We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE Value”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Dropped onto this place on a short-notice business trip. I was desperate for a bed and when my sec booked it and told me it was 39 euro B&B I wasn't expecting a lot. How wrong was I? Great clean room, everything worked, staff with faultless attention to customer satisfaction. I've payed 100 euro for chain hotels not a patch on this. If I think about it really hard I can find a downside - I had to park 200m away - no big deal right? Fantastic, I'll be back in April.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the staff will be happy to read you lovely comments. We look forward to having you here again in April at The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 492 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, brilliant staff. We enjoyed our stay. Right in the centre of town. It had loads of entertainment, disco upstairs, musicians in the bar, night club downstairs and there was even a wedding on also! Nice bar to chill out in also for a few early drinks or lunch! The breakfast was tasty also :-D highly recommended. We will definitely be back :-D

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CORKY087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay. There is a full list of festivals and live entertainment for the rest of the summer on the hotel website. We look forward to having you back at The Abbey Hotel,
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Arrived at the hotel to a warm reception.thsts probably as good as it got.room was too hot, too old fashioned, too loud . breakfast was average and selfservice.donegsl town is well worth a visit though.

Room Tip: Get a room to da back of da hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frannyfehilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that the room was not to your satisfaction. Your comments have been noted and will be passed on to management.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at The Abbey over the St Patrick's weekend and had a great time. The hotel was very well organised for the number of guests. The staff were really pleasant and helpful. Room was just great as was the breakfasts and dinners. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Donegal Town, And you must pay a visit to the Four Masters Book shop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review. All the staff worked very hard to make the St. Patricks weekend celebrations as enjoyable as possible. They will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the Abbey Hotel to others. We hope to see you again soon in Donegal.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend with my hens, we had a great nite. From the minute we landed until we left we were treated very well. hotel, food and staff are brilliant. They give 100%, most certainly be back again and wud recommend anyone looking for a place for hen party to come to the abbey in donegal town!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank aislingmclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice comment about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all your hens had a good time. We look forward to having you stay again at the Abbey Hotel.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
4.8 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0 km away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
776 reviews
0.8 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,332 reviews
2.2 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
12.8 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: €92 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing