We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at The Abbey over the St Patrick's weekend and had a great time. The hotel was very well organised for the number of guests. The staff were really pleasant and helpful. Room was just great as was the breakfasts and dinners. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Donegal Town, And you must pay a visit to the Four Masters Book shop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review. All the staff worked very hard to make the St. Patricks weekend celebrations as enjoyable as possible. They will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the Abbey Hotel to others. We hope to see you again soon in Donegal.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 469 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend with my hens, we had a great nite. From the minute we landed until we left we were treated very well. hotel, food and staff are brilliant. They give 100%, most certainly be back again and wud recommend anyone looking for a place for hen party to come to the abbey in donegal town!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank aislingmclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice comment about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all your hens had a good time. We look forward to having you stay again at the Abbey Hotel.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have stayed at the Abbey Hotel more often than I can remember over those past thirty years and I always look forward to both staying there and enjoying Donegal Town's many attractions. The Abbey has a great location, great staff, great rooms, great breakfasts and is always busy. The Ashdown Bar of the hotel is hugely popular with visitor and local alike.

Although it doesn't have its own car park, there are two large public car parks within 100 yards and the hotel will provide even the parking permit for the motoring resident. The Abbey offers astonishing value. The only downside is that it seems to cater eternally for coach tours also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinerant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your very gracious review. I will pass on your comments to all the members of staff. It is a pleasure to have returning guests for so many years and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again at the Abbey Hotel.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were in Donegal for a wedding and chose to stay at this hotel for our 3 day visit. We had a truly lovely time. The hotel is right in the middle of town with a taxi rank at the front door. There is no guest parking but you are given a ticket for the public car park, just a 2 minute walk away - in front of the police station, so very safe!! Room was lovely, large with a double and single bed. Breakfast was delicious with a good variety of food available. We had bar food one night and that was also very good. Wi-Fi is available in the reception area, not so good in the bedrooms. (didn't work for us most of the time) We would recommend this hotel for a holiday in Donegal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street particularly at the weekends.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your stay in The Abbey Hotel. I apologise that you had an issue with the Wi-Fi. It is normally available free throughout the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Donegal and that you would recommend us to other travellers.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night and booked online so we were delighted with this hotel , great location right slap bang in the middle of town . Our room was spotless and spacious , lively bar with loads of others a strollaway . Breakfast was hot and tasty ! We will come back .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Busman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment on your visit to the Abbey Hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back in Donegal town in the future.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.8 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
0.0 km away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
4.8 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
6.0 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,200 reviews
12.8 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: €86 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing