We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvey's Point is Stunning”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Harvey's Point is Stunning”
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Spent my birthday at Harvey's Point and had an absolutely amazing stay. The views over the lake are absolutely breathtaking and the rooms are fantastic! A special thanks to our bartender Kelly who provided some great ideas on places to visit and great service! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erindoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 15 May 2016
Dear Erin,

Congratulations on your recent birthday and thank you for choosing Harvey's Point for the celebrations. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.

Colm, our barman and the entire team join in sending you our warmest wishes and kind regards.

Deirdre & Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,722
    284
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
673
2,538
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I am not a person for writing reviews our family experience here was just something else that I feel it is important to share. I am came for a weekend with my parents for their birthday with our pet shitzu and stayed in the little apartments off of the hotel.

From start to finish our whole experience was nothing but exceptional. I have never experienced such open and warm hospitality. The staff were incredible from concierge, reception, housekeeping,to the bar and restaurant. The staff are a true credit to the hotel and it is obvious to see why so many guests return.

Both of our rooms were absolutely immaculate - especially considering that pets are allowed in there. (and I have OCD when it comes to cleanliness!)

The food was superb, the quality and choice for breakfast was fantastic. After dinner staff had arranged for a special dessert to celebrate the birthday occasion which was such a lovely thought.

The location itself is stunning and the views are breathtaking. We like to get out and about when travelling but we were so taken back by the hotel that we stayed indoors for the whole weekend.

The only "negative" point I have to make is that we did not stay long enough. We all left with heavy hearts on the Sunday as we absolutely LOVED it there!

I hope to return in the summer but will stay for much longer.

Five Stars all round.

Room Tip: apartments off the hotel had amazing views and a lovely patio where you can sit out! all very privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 15 May 2016
Dear Deirdre,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your recent experience at Harvey's Point. It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you.

Your kind compliments are highly appreciated by everyone here at the hotel, in particular your reference to the warm and genuine Irish hospitality. We absolutely love looking after our guests and it gives us great satisfaction and pride to receive such positive feedback on our team's efforts. We are blessed to have such wonderful staff.

We hope you will have occasion or excuse to return again sometime.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We were staying nearby and called into Harvey's point for drinks and dinner, and had the most fabulous time, special thanks to Sean and Nancy.
Sean showed us around the beautiful hotel and Nancy was first class when it came to dinner and drinks.
We are definitely coming back and booking a stay. The people are lovely.
Thanks again J&G

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janinemcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carndonagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Our daughter's wedding reception was held at Harvey's Point on Saturday 7 May. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. Wonderful staff, excellent food. Nothing is too much trouble. Our guests were extremely impressed. Many said they would return to Harvey's Point again.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 11 May 2016
Dear Mary,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments in relation to the Harvey's Point Experience. It truly was our pleasure to welcome you all to our hotel for such a special occasion. Please give our warmest wishes and congratulations to the happy couple, Jane and Emmet. Wishing them every good health and happiness in their future life together.

I hope you might have an opportunity to make a return visit for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Luxurious yet very homely hotel. Great breakfast. Fantastic large comfortable rooms and amazing bathroom. I loved the grooming area. Friendly, efficient staff. It was our second visit and it was worth every penny. With some hotels you don't get what you pay for, but with Harvey's point you definitely do. Maeve, Dublin

Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavisp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 11 May 2016
Dear Maeve,

Thank you for your lovely review. Your kind compliments are very much appreciated by everyone at Harvey's Point. It's great to know that you were impressed by the overall experience and in particular the value for money.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
1.2 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.9 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
6.0 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
18.8 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
6.0 km away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing