We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay by Lough Eske”
Review of Eas Dun Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eas Dun Lodge
Ranked #7 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Anne and Patsy have a wonderful house with a great view over Lough Eske. Nice, tidy and cosy modern rooms, great breakfast, best Müsli I have had in B&B. The hosts are warm & friendly people and make their guest feel very welcome. The newly renovated Lough Eske Castle is just down the road, we went there for a wonderful dinner (would like to try their Spa next time) and took walks around the area and the lake. I hope I will have an opportunity to stay with them again and will definitely recommend Eas Dun Lodge to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed our first night in Lough Eske at the nearby Rhu Gorse, it was fully booked for the second night and Grainne the owner suggested we try her neighbour Ann at Eas Dun Lodge. Eas Dun is a modern purpose built bed and breakfast set in a magnificent location. It is also the closest B&B to Harvey’s Point hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast was very good. Ann was born in London to Irish parents and was drawn back to Donegal over 20 years ago. Eas Dun lodge is testimony to the power of a returning diaspora.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariposa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My family and I stayed in this B&B only for one night because we had to move on, but it was the best accommodation in ten days that we were in Ireland. Excellent is the the best word to describe it and we were sorry that we didn't stay there for more than one night. The rooms are big and wonderfuly decorated, so much style and details. everything is perfectly clean and bright, the bathroom is big, everything looks as it is brand new. The location is great, it has excellent view over the lake. The breakfast was excellent, and last, but not less important, the owner was really friendly and nice to us. i travel a lot , but i don't often find places like this one. Thanks to owners for great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here for a couple of nights before going to a wedding at Lough Eske Castle and wished we'd stayed here for the night of the wedding too. Ann and Patsy were very friendly and were particularly enthusiastic when we asked them about local walks they could recommend. Very peaceful and overlooking Lough Eske, couldn't ask for more.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

As we were going to a wedding at the nearby lough Eske castle, I was tasked with finding the accommodation.
And what a find!
Myself and two friends stayed in this glorious little oasis of peace and tranquility for 4 nights, this gave us a chance to explore Donegal before the wedding.
The owners of the Eas Dun lodge are a lovely couple called Anne and Patsy for whom nothing was too much bother.
On arrival Patsy gave us a tour of the house, and made us feel very welcome. Throughout our stay both Anne and Patsy were always helpful and friendly - but without being intrusive.
By the end of our stay we felt like family and were sad to leave!
The rooms were spacious, spotless and modern, tastefully decorated with stunning views and some lovely little touches - such as the kit Kat's along with the tea and coffee.
My two friends stayed in the room in the photo. My room, number 6, was equally as lovely.
I have been raving about Anne's breakfasts since I got back. Lots to choose from, my favourite being the Irish breakfast with my bacon done crispy, I only had to say it once and Anne remembered. Impressive in my book! A previous review mentioned no white pudding, I am certain if they had of mentioned that's what they wanted, then Anne and Patsy would have had it for them the next morning.
On the day of the wedding, Patsy insisted on driving us down to Lough Eske Castle - too far to walk in heels! Didn't hear of any other B&B owners doing this for their guests!
The only thing that might bother some is that it's a little bit off the beaten track. It certainly didn't bother us. There are lovely walks to go on - ask to borrow Millie the family dog, she's a pleasure to walk. If your into cycling there are plenty routes around the Lough. And the scenery is spectacular. Donegal town is only a couple of minutes drive away.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A huge thank you to Anne and Patsy. Keep doing what your doing!
Will definitely come and stay again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Murphy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
3.7 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
2.1 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,240 reviews
2.2 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
935 reviews
5.8 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
5.9 km away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eas Dun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eas Dun Lodge

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town IE, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: €83 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Bed and Breakfast with all rooms En-suite - overlooking Lough Eske, near to Harveys Point and Solis Lough Eske - 5Km from Donegal town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eas Dun Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing