We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better service than any hotel,really!”
Review of Eas Dun Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eas Dun Lodge
Ranked #7 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed at Eas Dun Lodge for two nights June Bank Holiday weekend.We were attending a wedding at Harvey's Point Hotel and I can honestly recommend this B&B for a super getaway. All you gotta do is plan what to do while your in Donegal. Save yourself a fortune and give the Hotels in the area a miss and stay at Eas Dun Lodge. You wont be disappointed. Ben

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eternity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

We just came across this B&B while spinning around the lovely lough Eske..
We got a great welcome & went for a lovely cycle eround the area..got lost in the dark coming back but were kindly escorted back to the b&b by their friendly neighbour James
Rooms was lovely slept great..goood shower in ensuite..breakfast really good...
would def come back..great location for walkers & cyclists

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btj1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I have travelled a lot around Ireland and this place is great in all aspects.The owners are very warm and welcoming,the rooms and the place in general was absolutely spotless,really nice location,the only sound when we woke up was the singing of the birds.We arrived to the place after dark so when we looked up the window in the morning we were really impressed with the beautiful landscape and a great sunrise over the lake.Breakfast was a meal itself with large selection of cereals,fruit yoghurt,fresh fruit salad and a really good cooked Irish breakfast.Well done to Ann,she's doing a great job!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We happened upon Eas Dun Lodge from a recommendation and how pleasant it was to be made feel so welcome by the owner, Ann McGlinchey. Old and quaint are great qualities to experience but after a while there's an urge to stay somewhere where you don't have to climb up numerous steep stairs, walk across creaky floor boards, make do with a tiny shower over the bath and put up with a bed as ancient as the house itself - when this occurs, you need new, purpose built and comfortable - and with Eas Dun you get it. Ann has worked in the hospitality business for a number of years and her experience shows in the many thoughtful touches about the rooms. I wish that we'd had more time to spare so that we could stay longer and take some walks around the beautiful region but there's always another time.
Thanks Ann and Patsy - we enjoyed staying with you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOHADIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Just returned this weekend from a stay at Eas Dun Lodge. While just a base for us to sleep for a wedding weekend, Ann (the owner) made us feel so welcome and we really had a nice time there.
Even when we asked to change over to a double room on the second night, there was no problem about it... and the breakfast... WOW!! so so so nice, no problems with supplying a veggie option for myself!
Then there is the value for money. If you think that the surrounding hotels are asking close to 200euro for a room a night, getting the same for 70euro is great!
Would highly recommend this b&b (it seems to be the closest one to Harvey's Point and Solis Castle) however, just be aware that it is over 2km away from the hotels along a dark and windy road. Bring a flashlight if you are walking back or take a taxi (they are running from the hotels throughout the night!)
Thanks Ann for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salutkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
2.1 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
4.3 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.5 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
0.7 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
789 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eas Dun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eas Dun Lodge

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town IE, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: €83 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Bed and Breakfast with all rooms En-suite - overlooking Lough Eske, near to Harveys Point and Solis Lough Eske - 5Km from Donegal town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eas Dun Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing