We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best meal I had in Ireland”

Market House Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Market House restaurant on the Diamond, Donegal Town, has built up an enviable reputation for quality food at affordable prices. Capitalising on its views overlooking the Diamond’s Iconic Monument, the restaurants interior setting is spacious and traditional with a clever twist of modern décor. The Market House name originated from the old historical Market Hall which was located in the current building. The perfect place to stop and dine along the Wild Atlantic Way. Our guests can dine in our newly refurbished, award winning Market House Steak & Seafood Restaurant where they are treated to a range of high quality menus served with creativity and flair to suit everyone’s needs. Our whole ethos is fresh local produce complimented with a fantastic Wine & Gin Bar Menu All dishes are prepared with the freshest of locally sourced produce and meats. Our speciality seafood comes 'straight off the boat' from the popular fishing village of Killybegs on the Wild Atlantic Way. For guest looking to avail of an early bite, the Market Value Menus is ideal, available from 6.00 pm to 7.00pm daily. Our award winning chef creates an excellent three course menu daily from local sourced fresh produce at a fantastic value. For a more fine dining experience why not try our A La Carte Menu? With so many top quality dishes to choose from, to cater to every taste, you really are spoiled for choice with our this extensive menu. Available daily, the A La Carte menu is most favourable by locals and visitors alike. Our famous Steak on the Stone is a meal experience like no other, consisting of a 100% Irish 8 oz Prime Fillet Steak cooked to your own liking, served with a trio of sauces and a side order of our highly desired twice cooked homemade chips and onion rings. For special occasions, parties or get togethers for groups of 12 or more we offer two set menus - The Deluxe Menu and The Superior Menu. The Food Hall at The Market House is an exciting new dining concept for Lunchtime in Donegal Town incorporating Gourmet Salads from our Healthy Garden, Artisan Breads , Daily Specials, Homemade Soups, Sandwiches, Wraps and Baps and Freda’s Homemade Bakes. Breakfast served from 9am - 11am Daily Specials served from 12 noon - 3pm Light Snacks served from 3pm - 4pm
Cambuslang, Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Easily the best meal I had in Ireland”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We chose this restaurant at complete random as we were staying about half a mile away and wrongly assumed it was a pub as we were walking along. Upon entering it's clear it's not a pub, very inviting and not too bright, but with a friendly welcome from the staff inside.

For €22 I didn't expect too much, but that gets your starter (warm chicken caesar salad), your main (Irish beef steak with horseradish) and a selection of any of their amazing desserts. I usually can't eat more than 1 course when dining out, but I was ready and eager to run up and get my dessert at the end (banoffee pie). The food was simply amazing, and I had already decided that Irish food was far superior to British food before we arrived in Donegal.

The only bad words I can say is that our waiter took about 15-20 minutes to get us the bill, but we were stuffed and pretty much unable to move anyway, so perhaps this is normal to allow their guests time to get prepared to walk out the door again, haha!

Would definitely go again to try something else from their menu. It really was the best place I ate on our extended week-long loop of Ireland and I think it was especially enjoyable as it was completely unexpected.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristofer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    44
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glenties, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“what fabulous food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband & I had the great pleasure of dining at this wonderful gem of a restaurant on 4/5th January 2014, from the moment we entered to when we left was a pleasure, the menu had a wide variety of dishes, the food was plentiful, hot & great value a 3 course meal for 2 was 59 euro's with a free bottle of wine the staff were attentive, polite & friendly I would certainly recommend this restaurant highly even if you are not staying at the Abbey hotel as a guest which is attached to this restaurant give this little gem a try for that special meal or just a nice dinner, all thanks to the restaurant manager Ann Boyle & all her staff we had a great meal, 10 stars Market restaurant, well done

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackieg3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing...16th November 2013!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a review for the restaurant in the ABBEY HOTEL, Donegal Town:

Me and my family decided to dine at the Market House Restaurant on Saturday 16th November 2013 as part of a birthday celebration.
We glanced at the pre-theatre menu in the hotel, but were tempted by the €59 euro meal deal for 2, and the prospect of scallops with prawns for starters, and red curry with chicken or prawns, won the day for our first outing to this restaurant.
This menu looked and sounded the part for an enjoyable dining experience.
We came back later at 8pm and entered from the street entrance noticing the 4/5 rating 'Trip Advisor' logo, unmissable on the door.
Inside is an ambient space nicely lit, warm and comfortable, with plenty of staff and the maitre d, there to chat and welcome you.
We ordered the wine and the meals mentioned earlier from the €59 euro for two menu.
The starters of scallops and prawns came in the small snail style dishes, and I do mean SMALL.
My partner and I ate what there was of this dish and simply looked at one another in disbelief a moment later,....the starter had been a non-starter!
My partner complained of a toughness from the miniscule portion of scallop and a tastlessness overall, and that the prawns decided not to show up at all on the night!!
Both of us observed that some of the spaces on the snail dish had little or nothing in them only a seafood gravy!
Disappointed we conveyed our feelings to the maitre d who appeared surprised after we responded to her question, "did you enjoy the scallops?"
She offered and brought a bowl of chips to accompany the red curry, and later offered not to charge us for my daughter's dessert.
The red curry arrived with the rice swimming in the red sauce therefore no opportunity to regulate how much (if any) you wished to have.
The curry itself was tastless with both of us adding salt time after time. There was no real taste of the red curry whether made with the red paste or with the lemongrass, galangal, red chillies etc...(for the benefit of the chef)!!
The chicken appeared to have been cooked separately and introduced to the sauce only prior to serving!
The comment at the table got up about "a chef who doesn't taste his own food."

Just to top things off, the cheescake was of poor cheap quality, with a plasticy tasting shop or frozen variety...one small helping being more than enough.

Overall a meal of flavours and well sourced ingredients was reduced to a cobbled together bland shove-by, that didn't live up to the hype of the menu!

Until restaurants like this address the basic requirements of checking and tasting the quality of their own food, meals like that of the €59 euro for 2 SPECIAL will remain...well, just that, a PROSPECT!!

PS: Note to 'Trip Advisor,' 2** only here please!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Lovely hotel, wonderful food and not too expensive. Was funny though the look on the waiters face when me and hubby turned up in our bike gear for an early evening meal. Good sport though

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Capt4541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at Market House Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted you choose to dine with us and that we meat your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service and hospitality”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I came here with my Aunty and Uncle (who live in Northern Ireland) for dinner and had a wonderful evening. We ordered from the early bird and a la carte menus - our dinner included breads and dips, soup, seafood, steak, vegetables and desserts. The steak was sizzling and delicious, as were the potatoes and side vegetables. I had the seafood platter which was sensational. The staff serving us were so helpful and polite, and we loved the idea that where possible the food was locally sourced. It was great to be able to peruse the desserts laid out to choose our own. This was a special dinner for us, and we really enjoyed it. Thank you, particularly Anne for the wonderful hospitality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shell123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela21014, Manager at Market House Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
On behalf of The Market House Restaurant Team thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your special occasion meal. We are privileged to have a hard working team of chefs and staff to look after our diners every need. Our priority is ensuing that everyone enjoyed their meals and we are delighted to her you and your family did. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market House Restaurant also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Market House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing