We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honest, decent and friendly bar”
Review of Olde Castle Bar

Olde Castle Bar
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$48
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Donegal’s finest traditional old Irish Bar & Restaurant offers a warm welcome to visitors to Donegal Town and locals alike. The Olde Castle Bar and Restaurant Donegal is home to the finest Donegal seafood, steaks, beers, wines & whiskies – served by the O’Toole family and their team, with a smile and a Cead Mile Failte!
belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“honest, decent and friendly bar”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

was in the bar at lunch time and left my iphone at the table. when i came back about four hours later the waitress had it safely put behind the bar for me. had a meal and the dinner was first class, as well as the service.everyone was friendly and really helpful!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank conor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    397
    85
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Popular seafood pie - worth it!”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Warm atmosphere, good local beer choices and yummy food. Right in the middle of Donegal Town.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DMLehman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had dinner here, it was full downstairs, so we went up and had a great meal in a quieter enviroment.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food/ Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our tour stopped in Donegal Town for a lunch break and a few of us went to Olde Castle Bar across the street from Donegal Castle. The selection on the menu was great. Service was wonderful. And the food was delicious. Don't be fooled by the size of the interior, it has a lot of seating just keep walking toward the back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eaj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“huge portions!”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

i recently had a family meal in the Olde Castle Bar, in the bar downstairs. overall, very good food, only thing was the portions were huge! there was no hope of me finishing the main meal. which is hard when its tasty.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treasa_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde Castle Bar also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Olde Castle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing