We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ballyliffin golf courses are truly outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballyliffin Golf Club

Ballyliffin Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ballyliffin golf courses are truly outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Ballyliffin Golf Club in Co. Donegal, Ireland is truly outstanding ! Two fantastic championship golf courses in superb condition set on the rugged coastline of County Donegal is a must see, play and experience. I've played many championship courses throughout my 45 years of golfing endeavours and Ballyliffin is up there with the best - it truly is a 'hidden gem' and undoubtedly a return visit will be planned. Couple the course with the warmest welcome you can imagine - from both the clubhouse and golf course staff - along with some of the best 'golf club' food on offer anywhere (you've got to try the Glashedy cod or the bacon and cabbage dishes) and it all adds up to a fantastic trip.
Sorry for sounding so enthusiastic but this cynical 'old git' doesn't get enthused about much these days (apparently !) but Ballyliffin certainly changed that today !! Normal service will resume tomorrow !!

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank scottisholdgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent food by wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016

We drove over to Ballyliffen yesterday evening for our tea, a great varied menu, I had the glasnedy salmon which was excellent, my husband had soup followed by the cheese board which was also excellent. the place was very quiet but we were treated very well by the staff, this was our first time here for a number of years and we were treated like royalty, will defo be back

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank CAOIMHE1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2016

Both courses are really good but for me Glashedy was by far the stronger, more demanding and superior golf course with many memorable holes. I would without doubt include this destination as part of any golfing trip to this part of Ireland. Thanks to the staff who were superb, nothing was too much trouble. What really impressed me was the condition and the way the course is maintained, even down to the type of grass in the rough! Views in places were simply stunning. Not surprised the R & A are taking the amateur home internationals here in August - that's says it all!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armagh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Links Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016

I played the 'Old Course' then 'Glashedy' the following day during Open Week. Two great courses, Old is slightly easier. They are trying to get the Irish Open- it deserves it! The staff are friendly, extremely attentive & helpful. Food in the restaurant was fantastic too, ate there both nights- the 25euro meal was great value & the chicken/steak stack terrific.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank numptycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Don't be mislead by the title, my golf was anything but glorious. The courses however were magnificent. Not a lot to choose between the two courses though the old links is slightly shorter and probably a little easier. You get right down to the coast and the scenery is fantastic too.

The locals described the weather as exceptional, which I'd agree with, horizon to horizon blue skies and apparently very rare. Friendly, welcoming and a magnificent golf challenge. Give it a go, you won't regret it

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank mikejones456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at Ballyliffin Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
Thank you- glad you enjoyed it!
Blue skies are the norm here!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballyliffin Golf Club also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Carrick, County Donegal
 
Clonmany, County Donegal
Portsalon, County Donegal
 

Been to Ballyliffin Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing