We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Links Golf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballyliffin Golf Club

Ballyliffin Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
armagh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Links Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016

I played the 'Old Course' then 'Glashedy' the following day during Open Week. Two great courses, Old is slightly easier. They are trying to get the Irish Open- it deserves it! The staff are friendly, extremely attentive & helpful. Food in the restaurant was fantastic too, ate there both nights- the 25euro meal was great value & the chicken/steak stack terrific.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank numptycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Don't be mislead by the title, my golf was anything but glorious. The courses however were magnificent. Not a lot to choose between the two courses though the old links is slightly shorter and probably a little easier. You get right down to the coast and the scenery is fantastic too.

The locals described the weather as exceptional, which I'd agree with, horizon to horizon blue skies and apparently very rare. Friendly, welcoming and a magnificent golf challenge. Give it a go, you won't regret it

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank mikejones456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at Ballyliffin Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
Thank you- glad you enjoyed it!
Blue skies are the norm here!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta
Level Contributor
454 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great views of the Irish Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016

Out tour group dropped in for lunch yesterday. It was very good and service was fast. The views across the golf course to the Irish Coast were lovely.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank LikeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at Ballyliffin Golf Club, responded to this review, 23 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous course...beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2016

This is really top class!

I played the Glashedy links on a clear cold day..with enough breeze to keep you honest .

The course was in great condition...greens were fast but fair..AND...the scenery is simply magnificent ..on the high tees you can see for miles out to the Atlantic.

The Glashedy links was designed by Pat Ruddy and Tom Craddock and simlpy flows through the magnificent dunes.


Lovely clubhouse with very friendly staff...fees were very reasonable.

Liked it so much I even " bought the t-shirt!"

My only regret is that I didn't stay the extra day to try out the Old Course .

I WILL be back

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank HappyIrishGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016

Played the Glashedy Course on a windy cold day with a little rain to make it more interesting. the course is beautiful and you spend time looking rather than hitting the ball but the caddies were very good and we finished quickly and enjoyed both the golf and the Guinness!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at Ballyliffin Golf Club, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Thank you Jim- glad you enjoyed- spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballyliffin Golf Club also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Carrick, County Donegal
 
Clonmany, County Donegal
Portsalon, County Donegal
 

Been to Ballyliffin Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing