We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous course...beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballyliffin Golf Club

Ballyliffin Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous course...beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2016

This is really top class!

I played the Glashedy links on a clear cold day..with enough breeze to keep you honest .

The course was in great condition...greens were fast but fair..AND...the scenery is simply magnificent ..on the high tees you can see for miles out to the Atlantic.

The Glashedy links was designed by Pat Ruddy and Tom Craddock and simlpy flows through the magnificent dunes.


Lovely clubhouse with very friendly staff...fees were very reasonable.

Liked it so much I even " bought the t-shirt!"

My only regret is that I didn't stay the extra day to try out the Old Course .

I WILL be back

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank HappyIrishGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016

Played the Glashedy Course on a windy cold day with a little rain to make it more interesting. the course is beautiful and you spend time looking rather than hitting the ball but the caddies were very good and we finished quickly and enjoyed both the golf and the Guinness!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at Ballyliffin Golf Club, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Thank you Jim- glad you enjoyed- spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Golf as it was meant to be played.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2016

My friends and I wanted to play it the Irish wind to test our abilities. Be careful what you wish for, we had 85 km/hr winds. I shot 23 strokes over my handicap and cheated every hole.

The scenery is amazing, we played both courses over two days.
what an experience

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank sheldon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Scenic to the point of distraction...and not crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2015

If you could choose, would you rather wait around for 5 hours, watching other people take practice swings and putt in the distance ahead of you...OR would you perhaps prefer to enjoy the round of golf at the pace you are your golfing partner(s) choose, hitting your shots when you are ready and walking at your own pace?

The answer to the question, put this way, is a no-brainer to me and to many others, except that normally golf courses are like restaurants, the crowded ones are the ones that offer the best combination of quality and price.

If you sit reading up on this wondering if you should go to Ballyliffin or, say, Ballybunion on your next trip, it is also a no-brainer!

Ballyliffin is as good as the best in Ireland (I have played all the top 10 ranked ones...), as scenic as the best (Royal County Down, included) costs a lot less and best of all, is possible to play when you want to, not when they say you can!

What are you waiting for ?

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Ex-expat-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic golf, fantastic setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2015

We played the old course, and we were lucky with the weather! Unbelievable setting, great course, fantastic greens. A must play if staying nearby. Food was first class, made very welcome throughout.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveChammings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballyliffin Golf Club also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Carrick, County Donegal
 
Clonmany, County Donegal
Portsalon, County Donegal
 

Been to Ballyliffin Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing