We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Anise

Star Anise
Ranked #30 of 625 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$43
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
tipperary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

great food, nice environment, excellent service and good value.
well done Star Anise, see you again soon...

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTippTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    86
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kinsale
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I wanted a light yet savory salad for lunch and that is exactly what I got!

Helpful?
Thank margieinkinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

My Husband and I took 2 friens to the Star as a birthday treat. The welcome was lovely and the food great. As we explained when booking we were going to the Theatre, therefore the service was super. Could not have asked for better. Looking forward to our next trip to the Cork City so we can again dine there.
A great place to eat at a reasonable price.

Thank You

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'm their newest regular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I dined in Star anise this evening with my girlfriend. Our second time there, we were greeted with a very warm welcome and the owner had remembered us from our first visit 2 months ago...
The early bird menu had great choice, the a la carte sounded very impressive and the specials were seasonal and suited to a cold November evening! it took us a while to choose! The food is prepared with care and there's attention given to the finer details. Chowder which was not too heavy, seasoned well and with plenty of fish was a lovely starter to warm me up.. followed by cod, with carrots Vichy, crunchy green beans and the nicest black olive tapenade ive ever had! ... delish'!

service was flawless, value for money was very good, nice atmosphere... very relaxing evening with great food. what more would you want...

next time i wont drive, i wanna enjoy the wine too!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honest_Guy1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“super restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

The food is brilliant as is the service - would recommend a visit to this little gem

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bailyhowth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Anise also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Star Anise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing