We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helena is the best.”
Review of Achill House B&B

Achill House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Achill House B&B
Ranked #38 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed here for two days with our fourteen-year-old son. Helena McSweeney, the proprietor, is a warm and very friendly person. We had some great conversations with her and felt like friends when we left. The B&B is in a good location, close enough to downtown Cork to walk, but not so close that it is loud. Room was good size. Bathroom quite large with a jacuzzi which I really needed for a pulled back muscle one night. The breakfasts had the most selection and best quality of the three places we stayed in Ireland. The selling point for this B&B, however, is Helena herself. She went out of her way to help us, even letting my husband sit in her kitchen to use his laptop connected to the modem with a wire, as his computer wasn't accessing the wireless. (It was a problem with his computer, not her wireless). We felt welcomed and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

Close to the centre of the city. A comfortable room on the top floor: clean, quiet and private. Great breakfasts that filled me up so to be ready to spend an entire day working and walking without needing to worry about hunger pangs! with homemade cookies and brown bread, an unexpected treat. Gracious hostess, would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rivierasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed one night and it was an absolute pleasurable experience. The room was clean and comfortable and the people were very welcoming! I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam333Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Now, I have to honest and say that I didn't stay here but I had an excellent experience with Helena McSweeney, the proprietor.
We were to fly into Heathrow from Montana and then travel on to Cork. We knew we would be exhausted and I checked very carefully into B&B's in Cork City. Comparing price, location, amenities etc. I settled on Achill House. After some very cordial correspondence with Helena, we booked and paid for our first night in Ireland. I e-mail my family who live on the Beara and told them our plans. They called us immediately and said that they had planned on picking us up at the airport. I had not wanted to inconvenience them but they were insistent. I contacted Helena via e-mail and told her the situation and without question or hesitation, she responded very positively, not charging us for our reservation and wishing us well and happy travels. My experience with this woman is positive enough for me to recommend that if you are looking for a B&B in Cork City, be sure to check into Achill House. Brilliant!

Thank blackstandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Stayed here for just one night and I was made to feel at home straight away. I was greeted with a cuppa and biscuits after a long drive and made to feel at home. The breakfast was great and I was allowed to leave my car parked a little longer while I looked around the city before driving on to Dubli. I would recommend theis B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unclespud47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Redclyffe Guest House
Gabriel House B&B
#5 of 59 in Cork
587 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 59 in Cork
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Ballintemple
Carole Ville Bed & Breakfast
Mardyke
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill House B&B

Address: Carriglee Achill House 2 Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: €66 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Achill House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in luxury and style at Achill House in the heart of Cork City. A warm and relaxed atmosphere awaits the discerning business executive or tourist, combining traditional Irish hospitality with modern comfortable facilities and imaginative cuisine.This elegant period guesthouse has been lovingly maintained and elegantly furnished for your delight and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Achill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing