We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gabriel House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$412
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$234
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$260
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$352
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$254
US$239
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$166
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/06
US$254
US$241
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
296
191
73
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
191
73
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftsteep hillcity centretop floorbreakfast roomshort walkcar parktea and coffeeguest houselovely guesthousetrain stationa great place to stayjazz festivalfull irishbreakfast was includedpleasant stayhome from home
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Although the desk staff were very welcoming and accommodation was adequate we were very disappointed with substandard breakfast and totally shocked when hotel attempted to charge credit card for second night even though they had been paid cash for the one night requested, then they accused us of smoking in the room and it was out of commission for second night. I am a non smoker and it was my credit card being charged. Nobody smoked and it was perhaps the smell from our clothes as we had been in a smoking area all the previous evening. Nothing was said to us only the attempted charge on my card. All very upsetting for everyone. Would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaiMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel G, Front Office Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your breakfast as we have mainly positive feedback. As you were made aware on arrival our property is non smoking and we provide smoking facilities outside the both entrances for guests. While smoke may linger on one's clothes after a night out it is quite obvious when guests smoke in a room. This makes the room unsuitable for new arrivals and must therefore be put out of service. We try to contact guests to inform them that a charge will be imposed on their credit card for breaches of house policy as is usual practice. Thank you for your understanding.
kind regards
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We arrived long before check-in and we were not only invited to our room but also to breakfast. We also had our train tickets for the next day ordered and reserved by our hostess. Such great service, and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenbuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We also stayed here for the Jazz Festival, staff were very, very friendly and helpful. Although fine for us it might not suit those less able as it it up quite a steep hill. Room was very clean and comfortable, with a newly refurbished bathroom. Our friends who had a room on the top floor did have tea and coffee making facilities in their room. Choice for breakfast was amazing, as was the food itself. We're planning to return to Cork for next years Jazz Festival and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmpWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here for the Jazz festival weekend and found the place very good.

Room was clean and as it's off the road - very quiet.

No tea/coffee facilities in the room but there are some in the dining room up until 22:30.

Just 10 mins from the train station and 15 mins fom the city centre. Bit of a hike up the hill/steps to get to the B&B but that's good for working off all the food and drink consumed during the day.

Good range of breakfasts available from cooked to continental. Cooked breakfasts were a bit greasy though and the sausages were pretty tasteless.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the basement level below reception/dining room which make for a quieter night. No thumping from upstairs.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gravfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Upon arrival Valerie met us and introduced us to the facilities. She also put the kettle on and made a cup of tea which we welcomed. We travelled without a car and there is a long steady climb from the bus and railway stations to the hotel.The staff provide a good full Irish breakfast made to order. The rooms are clean and well appointed. We arrived in late September when the weather was cooling and getting damp and requested a little heat in the radiators which was not forthcoming. The location is handy to both bus and train stations.

Room Tip: Don;t get a room too close to the reception and the sound travels into the room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews