We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Warm welcome, nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a hearty breakfast what more can you want from a B&B? .... wifi?.... th” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gabriel House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gabriel House B&B
Ranked #8 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a hearty breakfast what more can you want from a B&B? .... wifi?.... th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at Gabriel House for 3 nights and found there to be little to complain about except maybe the walk home from the city centre, up hill all the way or so it seemed. Cork is a great little city and we plan to go back there again and we will probably stay at Gabriel House.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FancymanCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel G, Front Office Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We have free wifi, a password is available from reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    164
    65
    24
    22
See reviews for
98
180
69
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Although the desk staff were very welcoming and accommodation was adequate we were very disappointed with substandard breakfast and totally shocked when hotel attempted to charge credit card for second night even though they had been paid cash for the one night requested, then they accused us of smoking in the room and it was out of commission for second night. I am a non smoker and it was my credit card being charged. Nobody smoked and it was perhaps the smell from our clothes as we had been in a smoking area all the previous evening. Nothing was said to us only the attempted charge on my card. All very upsetting for everyone. Would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel G, Front Office Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your breakfast as we have mainly positive feedback. As you were made aware on arrival our property is non smoking and we provide smoking facilities outside the both entrances for guests. While smoke may linger on one's clothes after a night out it is quite obvious when guests smoke in a room. This makes the room unsuitable for new arrivals and must therefore be put out of service. We try to contact guests to inform them that a charge will be imposed on their credit card for breaches of house policy as is usual practice. Thank you for your understanding.
kind regards
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We arrived long before check-in and we were not only invited to our room but also to breakfast. We also had our train tickets for the next day ordered and reserved by our hostess. Such great service, and great hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenbuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We also stayed here for the Jazz Festival, staff were very, very friendly and helpful. Although fine for us it might not suit those less able as it it up quite a steep hill. Room was very clean and comfortable, with a newly refurbished bathroom. Our friends who had a room on the top floor did have tea and coffee making facilities in their room. Choice for breakfast was amazing, as was the food itself. We're planning to return to Cork for next years Jazz Festival and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmpWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here for the Jazz festival weekend and found the place very good.

Room was clean and as it's off the road - very quiet.

No tea/coffee facilities in the room but there are some in the dining room up until 22:30.

Just 10 mins from the train station and 15 mins fom the city centre. Bit of a hike up the hill/steps to get to the B&B but that's good for working off all the food and drink consumed during the day.

Good range of breakfasts available from cooked to continental. Cooked breakfasts were a bit greasy though and the sausages were pretty tasteless.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the basement level below reception/dining room which make for a quieter nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gravfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House B&B

Property: Gabriel House B&B
Address: Summerhill North | St. Luke's, Cork 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Gabriel House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel House Bed and Breakfast in Cork city is a beautiful period guesthouse,located close to both bus and train stations it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the centre of the city. Gabriel House dates from the early 1900's has been lovingly restored, aspiring to its former glory. With 10-foot ceilings, feature staircase and many original features it is not difficult to imagine this impressive house as it was in its heyday! Our South facing sun terrace compliments extensive gardens and a vegetable garden, fruit trees with the a new greenhouse to provide for breakfast needs. We also have our own hens and ducks producing fresh eggs daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Gabriel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel House Hotel Cork
Gabriel House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing