We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 6 day Private Tour with Butler!”

Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland
Ranked #2 of 46 Tours in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialise in providing bus tours of Ireland for private groups large or small who wish to enjoy their own custom tailor made flexible tour of Ireland complete with their own personal experienced driver/guide.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

My Aunt took my sister and me on a trip to revisit Ireland as she had done with our mother 30 years ago, before our mother died. We've just returned and it was an amazing trip and was completely due to our fantastic driver/guide Michael Power. From the moment we met up with him, he figured out the type of sites we would like to see and was willing to go on a wild adventure trying to find a castle ruin my mother had visited, which was connected to our family from Ireland. I had spent a month in Ireland 20 years ago and he took us places I had never seen, had an amazing sense of humor, full of knowledge of the complex history of people and events. We kept pinching ourselves at our luck. I highly recommend this company and this guide! It was worth every Euro!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Martha,

What a beautiful background story to your tour, we were honored to be able to support your aunt in retracing their tour with you and your sister.

Michael had a fantastic tour with you too, we have to agree Michael is a real pro. We are really lucky to have such a brilliant team.

If you ever visit our beautiful shores again we would love to have you on board.

Warmest regards,
Louise & all at Butlers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"office staff"
in 22 reviews
"driver john"
in 16 reviews
"always on time"
in 16 reviews
"blarney castle"
in 47 reviews
"golf trip"
in 12 reviews
"bus company"
in 8 reviews
"private tour"
in 28 reviews
"day tour"
in 37 reviews
"dublin airport"
in 7 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 25 reviews
"excellent driver"
in 12 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 25 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 8 reviews
"the entire trip"
in 6 reviews
"great suggestions"
in 8 reviews
"irish songs"
in 6 reviews
"memorable trip"
in 6 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

We did 3 tours with Butlers, one out of Cobh/Cork and two out of Dublin (late afternoon on arrival & whole day next). James Buckley, our guide for all 3 tours met us Dockside at both Ports in a new? clean, spotless, very comfortable Mercedes Van

Our Cobh tour in on/off drizzle & fog took us south west - first to Blarney and Blarney woollen Mills, where we spent an inordinate amount of time browsing/shopping. We bypassed Blarney Castle with its line ups & stairs - not good for old legs and, more importantly, due to the drizzle/wet/slippery? conditions - and proceeded to Kinsale for a Pub lunch. It was here Murphy beer was tried – never heard of it? Same with us. It’s a Guinness contender which meant, of course, Guinness testing would happen on our Dublin tour the following day. At Kinsale we found the same Guinness Gel pen as at Blarney Woollen Mills at about 1 Euro less. Oh my! – how many other ‘Millls’ trinkets did we over pay? Finished our Pub lunch (with selection assistance from James) we navigated the ever so narrow streets of Kinsale (it is a beautiful town we hope to return to some day) in the van (Yikes!!) making our way to Fort Charles where we snapped pictures from the van avoiding a walk-about in the drizzle all the while, mind you, listening to James recount history, etc of the Fort.

Here it is worthwhile to mention the value of a good knowledgeable Guide & relatively unorganized tours. James had to continually adjust our itinerary & schedule when we by-passed attractions due the weather or when we overstayed at other attractions. All of which he handled superbly. As well his knowledge of Woolens and the like made for wise garment selections. His Irish wit showed itself during our drive back to the ship on passing a graveyard when he asked if we knew how to find the grave of the Crossword puzzle inventor. . . (Answer later).

Our afternoon arrival in Dublin the next day saw us head to Trinity University. Here we viewed the Book of Kells, Trinity Library (both must see - buy your tickets online beforehand to avoid the crowds unless you are there about an hour before closing), and the campus common. (Note: Guides can accompany you into the attraction. As such you are able to get more out of the displays than normally otherwise). Afterwards it was Pub time for bangers & mash - & the Murphy/Guinness comparison (It was a draw, 1 liked Murphy, 1 Guinness. Try both and see what you think.). We saw: Molly Malone at her new location; strolled & browsed Grafton Street; saw a ‘mass’ of pub patrons spill/flow out onto Anne street (off Grafton); St Patrick’s Cathedral; Guinness Brewery gates (the brewery is labelled as more of a tourist trap by locals); posh neighbourhoods; Phoenix park and the deer herd (a must drive through); the US embassy there; and amongst the many statues/monuments, the Spire (formerly Nelson’s monument – bombed in 1966)

Our next day started with a Powerscourt estate visit with its’ beautiful grounds. 3 hours and we didn’t see it all! From there it was up into and across the barren highlands (Sally Gap) with a refresh stop at Laragh and a Glendalough drive by (too crowded) on the other side. From there we drove along the shore back to ship.

Our days in Ireland, thanks to James (and by association Butlers), gave us a but a glimpse of the Emerald Isle. We need to go back - there is so much to see and do.

Oh, must not forget . . . The Crossword puzzle inventor ‘s grave site? Why, 3 down & 2 across naturally. (Luv’d your wit, James!)

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank mar2dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Mar2dav,

We would love to have you back as would our driver/guide James.

Thank you so much for your detailed review, we take pride in our ability to adapt your schedule to suit your group and the weather if needed.

We count ourselves lucky to have such fantastic, experienced team with great personalities. I laughed out loud here at the crossword joke.

Wishing you a wonderful cruise,
Louise and all at Butlers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

3 senior couples on a 7 day tour of Southern Ireland visiting Galaway, Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher ,Kinsale, The Rock of Cashel ,Blarney Castle, Rothe House, Kilkenny Castle and a few other sites.
Tour was organized by Butler tours. They provided a clean and comfortable bus with a driver/guide named Jim Hickey. Jim was an excellent driver and guide, knowledgeable, courteous , always on time, helpful and friendly. I recomend highly both Butler Tours and our guide/driver Jim Hickey .

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank omiko2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Omiko,

We delighted you enjoyed your tour with us a Butlers. You certainly planned a great itinerary taking in all the key sites on the beautiful Wild Atlantic Way.

Jim will be delighted with your glowing review and I know he enjoyed his tour with you all also.

We would love to see you all on board again in the future,

Warmest regards,
Louise


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We used Butler to transport wedding guests to & from Cobh to Blackrock castle.The experience was great, on time and driver was very friendly. Very well done.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank mbinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Mbinis,

Thank so much for your kind words, we were delighted to be a small part of such an important day. Pass on our congrtualtions to the happy couple

Warmest regards,

Louise and all at Butlers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Date of experience: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Owner at Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland also viewed

 

Been to Butlers Bus Tours of Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing