We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I recently stayed for three nights at the Lancaster Lodge in Cork. On entering the Lodge one sensed this would be an enjoyable stay. The room was on the fourth floor, very clean with a comfortable bed and a powerful shower. Very little noise.

Breakfast was from 7am to 10am. Perfectly adequate with excellent service.

The Lodge was about ten minutes walk from the centre of Cork where we enjoyed three very good evening meals in different restaurants.

Just a shame it rained so much.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    285
    85
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
329
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here to be close to town and UCC and the location is perfect. Walking distance to both. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Couldn't fault it. We paid a little extra for the jacuzzi suite which size wise was perfect, bigger than the average room but I wouldn't go rushing out to get it for the jacuzzi alone, the bath was very small and not as luxurious as the pictures would make it seem. Its really a sitting bath rather than a lying bath. The breakfast in the hotel was very nice, a good selection and the hot breakfast is served to you rather than a buffet which is nice. You do need a bit of extra time for a hot breakfast as it is made to order. Finally, the only other problem we experienced was some noise from a bar across the road. Easily fixed with a closed window.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more room go for a suite but dont bother with a jacuzzi, its too small. Rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nici H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed one night, last minute booking for a twin room (two single beds) at 75 euros. Agree with most of the reviews dated from 2011. It is a standard hotel with clean rooms, very firm beds (not pillow topped), and indifferent but efficient front desk staff. The location is convenient for sightseeing but not located in the city center, which is about a 15 minute moderate stroll from the hotel.

Our room was facing the river but that meant being just above the car park. Guests were quiet and we had no noise problems. Our room looked just like the hotel photos.

We arrived by bus at Parnell Bus station. It is about a 15 minute walk but did not want to roll suitcases over cobblestone sidewalks. Many streets are one way and the River Lee splits into two channels, so you will get a scenic drive for about 10 euros to the hotel. We took at taxi to the airport -the front desk called a taxi for us. Cost about 15 euros and took about 15 minutes at midday.

One complaint. There was an odd sour odour in the room. It came from two of the walls, which were patch-painted, likely with bad latex paint or oil-based paint. If you notice this, ask for a room change. One other reviewer mentioned the odd odour in the room. I did not ask for a room change, thinking I could tolerate the odor for just one night. I could not sleep, even with an opened window. For this reason, I rated this hotel as just average.

We did not eat at the hotel as there are many options towards the town center (and the English Market). The Cafe Paradiso, just across the street (Washington St) has excellent vegetarian fare. We also ate at the Market Lane restaurant on Oliver Plunkett St. Large portions with their fixed price early bird menu, so you may want to share a meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valueaddedCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear valueaddedCanada,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I have not had this reported as an issue previously and I would appreciate if you could contact me so that I can look into it further.

Warm regards

Susan Leahy
info@lancasterlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Lancaster Lodge. We walked to town and restaurants. The room was nice and service was excellent. We had breakfast in the hotel for a small sum of 6 Euros and it was convenient and good. We found Cork and our hotel such a nice place to visit we hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for a business trip. The rooms are pleasant, in a generic business hotel sort of way, clean, and comfy beds. The bathroom was a good size, with a shower above the bath, but the drains weren't great and so the bath slowly filled up while I was having a shower.

I hadn't booked breakfast, but it was easy to add to add for about €10. The full Irish was very nice.

Free wifi, but an unusual set up where you had to pick the hotspot with the number most similar to your own room number. The wifi standard lets you have multiple access points with the same name, so this is an odd way of doing it.

Overall a pleasant hotel, great for a business trip, but nothing special to make it stand out from the crowd.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are probably quieter - there front faces the main road up to the university, so on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engineer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Property: Lancaster Lodge
Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing