We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in Cork”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Belvedere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvedere Lodge
Ranked #11 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stay in Cork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed a couple of nights here while touring Ireland. Central city locations everywhere in the British Isles tend to be expensive and obviously the Euro exchange rate for us poor Brits doesn't help so I was amused the car park was mainly filled with UK registered plates. At just over £40 per night this was the best deal I could find for the City. Location is the one draw back as realistically, its 20-30 minutes walk into centre (though there is a bus stop outside -be careful for the return as these stop around 11.30pm). Therefore drove in and limited my drinking on Saturday night - Ireland has since my stay last month reduced drink driving limit to 50mg compared to our 80mg per litre so be careful - bus and taxi probably safer bet. Hotel is old and next to an overpass but don't be put off - on arrival appearance is deceptive, building extends far back from road, rooms are spacious & comfortable with baths and cooked and buffet breakfast in the morning is exceptional (here the owners really put themselves out). Had problems getting WIFI to work for upstairs network because hotel's modem needed to be rebooted but pleasant young Spanish receptionist understood and got it sorted. In general no complaints about my stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Hotel has no lift - if you have heavy luggage maybe better to request ground floor - place is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernardmlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    134
    47
    20
    17
See reviews for
53
143
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is really more of a guesthouse than a B&B: its quite a large place but plenty of parking and not difficult to find. The room was huge and warm. Flat screen tv, free wifi and complimentary tea/coffee was a welcome addition for the low price I paid. I'd certainly consider this as an alternative to a hotel.
The only thing to watch for is that it is a little out of town, but better than the B&Bs located in the city, many of whom have very limited parking. Didn't get to eat any food but will definitely visit some time in future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

First things first; the good points were that the breakfast was hearty, varied & plentiful. The staff were friendly & helpful & the place itself is pleasant & more interesting when compared to your average B & B, in that it's always nice to stay in a place with a bit of character.

However. Our room, though huge with a large en-suite, was a little soul-less. The TV didn't work, the bed was small & the matress over-used. (My partner & I enjoy being close, but the big dip in the middle meant we remained very much so all through the night! - Consequently, sleep was a bit of a lottery!) There was also a little too much damp in the en-suite for it to be quaint.

We only stayed for one night, as we were going to a party & it was also Jazz week in Cork, so I'm guessing availability & price of accommodation was at a premium. I do think however that ithe room wAs a bit over-priced.
The breakfast & demeanor of staff went so far, but probably not quite far enough for me to want to stay again if I'm in need of a bed in Cork in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterfordMagnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Lovely big rooms, clean, great breakfast. Staff are friendly, hospitable, welcoming. Value for money. Would stay there again. Beautiful garden.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We didnt arrive in time to enjoy high tea in the garden but will definitly next time. We were treated so well, personal touch. The bedroom was spacious & had an extra room leading off it with a couch and coffee table. Bed was big and comfy. Such an interesting house and the gardens are full of interest also. When we came back after dinner, we were greeted by the lady of the house and had an interesting chat with her. we also met her at breakfast. There was such a display of food, I was amazed & delighted. I didnt have to eat the irish breakfast as there were so many other alternatives. Thank you to the owners and staff of Belvedere lodge for making our one nights stay one to remember. we will see ye soon again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita19624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Lodge

Property: Belvedere Lodge
Address: Belvedere Lodge 6 Tivoli Gardens, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvedere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing