We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay at Gresham Metropole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My stay at Gresham Metropole”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Its right in the city centre, next to the River Lee. Its also 5 min walk to St Patricks Street, the bus station and the train station. At the back of the hotel, there is the bus stop that goes directly to the Airport. Rooms are clean, and if you are lucky, you get the bathroom with the double shower and a heated rack. I like the breakfast which has great selection of bread and cereal. Do bring your swim gear. there is a great heated pool and also gym with all the equipment. You wont need to miss your exercise. The reception ladies were specially helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savedwater S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreshamMet, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back to The Gresham Metropole in the near future.

Regards

Roger Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    660
    283
    128
    78
See reviews for
266
698
144
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here on Feb 11th with my wife. Was looking for a decent good value hotel with Cental location. Was not dissappointed and would recommend it to anyone visit Cork City. Could not find any fault with my stay. I would stay here again, no problem. Breakfeast was great with friendly service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel may be a little less noisey (although I did not have any issue) Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreshamMet, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back to The Gresham Metropole in the near future.

Regards

Roger Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed in the Gresham Metropole for the weekend recently, very enjoyable. The staff are very helpful – the receptionist, Deimante, exceptionally so. We had a lovely large warm room with two big windows, and a large bright ensuite with a jacuzzi bath (ask for room 316). Good selection of toiletries. Fridge in the room. Pool and leisure centre very good. Good breakfast. Very central. Very good value. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurphette1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

After being misled by photos of a nearby hotel, I surprised my fiance by booking at The Gresham for the rest of our stay in Cork. This place was great. Very professional, clean, nicely designed rooms with a great view of the town. The bathroom had a heated towel rack, which was especially useful for hand washing and drying clothes. Highly recommend, especially because its located right in the center of town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepixelforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at the Gresham Metrople on Sat 4 February. Overall I had a very pleasant experience. The hotel itself is a very old building so that can't be helped. I stayed in a twin room and was very impressed to see the toiletries in the room. Along with the usual shower gel, there was soap, shoe shine, show cap, and body lotion. I have stay in various 4 star hotels all over the world and found that some of them didn't supply such a variety. I asked for a quiet room and got it so slept like a baby! All the staff were extremely friendly. I found Rachel on the front desk to be particularly friendly and ever so helpful. The breakfast was delicious with orange juice that you would actually drink, unlike other hotels I stayed at where it was definately watered down. Breakfast is served from 8-12 on Sun so you are not rushed out of the hotel at the crack of dawn. We went for breakfast at 11:20 and I was a bit apprehensive that it would be dried up with not much left..I needn't have worried. It was so fresh and even when I was helping myself, more fresh eggs etc was being put out. The residents bar opened until 3 and we were offed a last drink at 3am which again is great as we could totally relax and not feel we were being pushed out. Location is excellent as was the price we paid. The only negatives I have is that the lift is very slow there was a fridge in the room but it didn't work and tea/coffee would also be another nice addition, but not the end of the world and would not stop me from booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing