We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and Interesting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butter Museum

Butter Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Cork Audio Tour
Ranked #22 of 148 things to do in Cork
Attraction details
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quirky and Interesting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a small quirky insightful cute local museum about Irish Butter. It's only €4 in and some of the exhibits are interesting so it's worth popping in while exploring the must see historical Shandon area of Cork.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank generator5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    94
    67
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not exciting at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice quite place in the center of Cork, which is a very boring city any way. Nice guy who is telling you a history of traditional Irish butter making, some pictures and some music... The guy is preparing a butter in front of you, you can participate if you like.
Quite boring and kind of superfluous place...

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank lenahenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Surprisingly awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never thought there would be a museum on 'butters'! But I loved every bit of it. Its a small museum and as we entered we were directed to a big screen showing us the history of dairy and butter industry in Cork. All the exhibits were interesting and well maintained. Being an Indian I liked the connection of my native place Bengal to Cork city in Ireland since the former was one of the biggest importers of Irish butter in olden days. Really loved how the museum has been able to portray Irish history and culture through 'butter'. Finally a special shout-out to the person at the front desk. He was very jovial and knowledgeable. Not just he shared his vast knowledge on Irish history but also talked about various environmental issues of his country. People like him made my trip to Ireland really memorable.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Paromita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Utterly Butterly....so interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

A strange item to have a museum on we thought.....and we were late, arriving close to closing time and nearly did not go in but glad we did. We had spent the day in Cork shopping just before christmas and crossed the river Lee and walked up Widderling's lane (old town) to be greeted with warm Irish hospitality offering to look after the shopping and then he set the film on which gave a history of the Ireland's farming / milk / butter industry since around the 50's (facinating) - Kerrygold! The exhibits were interesting Bog butter in particular as we had previously been to Dublin and seen the bog men exhibit. (...a must see!)
It is quite small but well worth a visit with some great insight into irelands history and agricultural heritage.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank kada1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“VERY INTERESTING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

I didn't know that Cork had the biggest butter exchange in the world! How impressive the museum becomes after knowing this!
I like that they went through the hassle of translating a fully guide for the entire exhibit into 8 languages - thank you for that!
If you check with the museum beforehand you will be told which days you're in for a treat - which days they have the demonstration of butter making.
I enjoyed that visit immensely!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank walabok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butter Museum also viewed

 

Been to Butter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing