We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butter Museum

Butter Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Cork Audio Tour
Ranked #21 of 148 things to do in Cork
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Most certainly worth visiting. It is an extremely interesting and unusual museum. Initially shown a video presentation which lasted about 15/20 mins and focused on the history of Irelands diary industry from late 50's to mid 80's with the emphasis on the impact of the EU.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    94
    67
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Quirky Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Perhaps not to everyone's taste, but I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the butter museum - very interesting! The museum isn't huge but tells a great story and is well-presented.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Escapementality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Most interesting was the video in which the transition from small farm, home production to international exporting is described. Some of the other exhibits were also interesting. If there had not been other attractions nearby, we might have missed it, but it was good exercise and informative. Do not go out of your way, but if you are in the area, drop in.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank nomad_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

My husband and I visited the museum and were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! There is a movie describing the impact the butter industry has had on the Irish economy in the 20th century. There are exhibits of churns and other tools used in previous centuries for the making of butter. Exhibits also include maps reflecting the growth of the Cork area. I didn't realize how important the dairy industry has been to Ireland's economy for centuries.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank jssc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting Insight into Irish History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stopped here while visiting Cork for a few days as a part of a walking tour of west Ireland. The visit starts with a short--old-- video about the history of butter's role in Irish history. It was interesting and a good start to understanding why a museum would be dedicated to butter. The rest of the museum was a display of butter making machinery, old and new and also the role of butter in Irish agriculture. Upstairs there were more displays and information about the impact of butter on many walks of Irish life. All in all, a very interesting and worthwhile visit.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jannekebfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butter Museum also viewed

 

Been to Butter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing