We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cork City Gaol

Cork City Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.58*
and up
Jameson Experience in County Cork
Ranked #8 of 148 things to do in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corks Most Captivating Experience:A step back in time to see what 19th/early 20th century life was like-inside and outside prison walls. Historical experience brought to life with amazingly lifelike figures, furnished cells, sound effects & fascinating exhibitions.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Cannot recommend this highly enough. A real step back in time to see how life in jail was in the 1800's/1900's. A well presented tour so easy to follow OR if you wish you can hire an audio for the very reasonable price of 2 euro. Though it is only a 25 minute walk from the city centre be aware that a lot of it is uphill.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    448
    141
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Open day in cork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hi to you all we had a great day out full of history and learning for the kids its part of Cork I would to also say to you call next door to the arm barrack


Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prisoner Cell Block Cork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off to have a look at this Gaol and found it very interesting.
You can either have a leaflet or head set to guide you around the 19th Century wing, there were over wings and although I would have liked to looked at these as well they are not open due to Health and Safety reasons but you can get a feel for what the prisoners felt by going into the cells and they have sounds of warders walking up and down the the walkways and locks being opened as it was a quiet time when we visited this gave an eerie feel to the place.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mixalitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very intresting place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very interesting place. We used the audio units which give you information on each different area. These unit also allow you as much time as you want in each area. We would have liked a cup of coffee when we finished the tour but nothing available.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank bilcar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This 19th/early 20th Century Goal is definitely worth a visit. It is very well kept with friendly staff. One may roam the Goal with a numbered map which corresponds to numbers on cells and rooms or have a tour guide. See graffiti on cell walls whilst learning about several prisoners.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tripandyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cork City Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Cork City Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing