We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cork City Gaol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cork City Gaol

Cork City Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.58*
and up
Jameson Experience in County Cork
Ranked #8 of 148 things to do in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corks Most Captivating Experience:A step back in time to see what 19th/early 20th century life was like-inside and outside prison walls. Historical experience brought to life with amazingly lifelike figures, furnished cells, sound effects & fascinating exhibitions.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cork City Gaol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had heard about the gaol previous to our trip to Ireland and decided it would be worth a visit.
As it turned out , the visit became the highlight of our 2 night stay on the island. It's difficult to walk to from the city centre as It's mostly uphill, but the 10 min taxi drive only cost us 7 Euros.
The entry fee is 8 Euros per adult with free guide book, and for additional 3 Euro, you're supplied with audio commentary via earphones (which you get to keep at the end)!
The tour itself takes around 40 mins, and is really informative. And along with the waxwork models of the prisoners and warders, you get a real atmospheric feel.
There's a gift shop attached to the wing. The staff are extremely knowledgable and friendly, and the place is well worth a visit if you're in the area.
Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    448
    141
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cork City Gaol.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

On a recent visit to the lovely city of Cork, we visited this old jail. Its a well maintained building, with lots of history. There is a audio guide you can listen to and there are lots of cells that you can look into and imagine what it would have been like. We learned it was once a childrens, womens and mens prision, quite shocking you would imagine. Entry fee is well worth the money and its great for educational purposes especially if you would like to learn something new . Go and see its a fantastic building and has lovely grounds .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Going back in Time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Prefect for few hours out. Give yourself time to walk around. This is something solo traveller could do. The information the gaol have put on tape is second to none.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank patrickhhennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable in any weather but maybe put in a coffee shop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I recently went to Cork City Gaol for the first time and as someone living in Cork it was well overdue. I found the staff very friendly and the prices were ok. It is well worth getting the recorded tour and you get to keep it so you can listen to it again at you leisure if you want to get some information you may have missed. The tour took about an hour and it was easy to follow and enjoyable. There may be an opportunity for a coffee shop or something similar so as to be able to just sit and enjoy the ambience of the gaol. But a good tour with a good lay out and enjoyable. Fit for all the family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over Priced. Lacking investment and expertise. Rude staff. Bad value.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I visited the gaol with my wife and 2 children. You could experience everything that is on offer in 10 to 15 minutes. Essentially, this is an old gaol with a small wing being maintained. Overall terrible value. Rude staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek_L_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cork City Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Cork City Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing