A very good location and the staff are very friendly, but the hotel itself is very old and could do with a makeover. The pictures they show on the website are definitely not from this hotel...area perfect, hotel not so..More
- Free Wifi
- Free Parking
A very good location and the staff are very friendly, but the hotel itself is very old and could do with a makeover. The pictures they show on the website are definitely not from this hotel...area perfect, hotel not so..MoreShow less
Dear Karen R, thank you for your opinion and complimenting our excellent location, friendly and always attentive staff. On this occasion, I would like to add as well that we are proudly in business for over 180 years and we put a lot of work on a regular basis to maintain our independent boutique hotel.
We booked the triple room for a weekend in Cork. The Ashley Hotel was reasonably priced and in a great location. The fab Sin e pub is just across the road.
We arrived early on a Friday, the staff were quick to let us store our luggage so we could explore Cork. The receptionist was really helpful, she helped us plan our day as we couldn’t check in till 3pm.
The room was a good size, really comfy beds, big bathroom but the hotel is dated and needs some love. The shower desperately needs updating.
Other than that, we had a great stay and couldn’t fault the welcome staff, thank you!!
Dear Pluv, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay, thank you very much for complimenting our hotel's excellent location, friendliness and helpfulness of our staff and the standard of the bedroom you stayed in. We hope to see you again in the future.
Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights to visit family in Cork and I can't speak highly enough of the hotel and it's staff and the manager . The hotel is nice and tidy with a comfortable bed and staff are excellent and very helpful making sure my stay hear is good. For the price i paid with breakfast included was good value for money. If I was stay in Cork on my own again I would stay hear again.
Dear Damien M, thank you very much for your positive feedback and kind words. We are looking forward to seeing you again at our hotel.
Rooms are tiny and dated. Not enough room for two people. Very basic. Bed was hard and uncomfortable Staff not very friendly. Only 6 car parking spaces. Not disability friendly.
Not worth £155. Horrible
Dear Orla L, thank you for your opinion. We offer free complimentary parking (first come, first served) and all beds in the hotel are fitted with brand new mattresses.
In spite of all our complaints, we have to say the staff is very friendly and very helpfull to get things solved.
We stayed here for 5 days.
We asked for a quiet room, but got the most noisy room there was: room 6! (according to us) It was just in front of a pub! And we were looking out on a funeral house... Besides, there was lots of traffic and every morning there were many cars standing still for a traffic light, right under our window! We managed to stay in that room for 3 days, because we didn't want to complain at first day...
But when we told our problems to the staff, they gave us an other room, which was much more quiet! Also we found the matrass very hard, so they were topping it with something soft for us, which we appreciated.
Then there was no heating at all in the bathroom in room 6, so we complained and got an electric heater. The central heating was from about 3 hrs in the afternoon till 10 hrs in the evening, and they told me that the staff couldn't do anything about that. This was i think an economic thing, to save money. So our room was very cold!
But when we moved over to room 15 many things were solved.
The breakfast was good, especially because of the personal serving and kind words every morning from the staff. This was always a good start of the day!
The floor is a little bit slanted but that is because the hotel is over 150 years old.
That's why it was not very quiet at night also; we could hear the other guests in their room when they were looking at the television or even talking loud.
You have to consider this is an old hotel and therefor you should not have too many expectations.
After all our experiences we think this is a better hotel for younger persons/couples , which there were many, because it is right in the middle of the town.
Dear Lucie, we appreciate your feedback. Our staff is always attentive to the guests' needs and has responded each time to your requests. We wish you and your husband the very best.
I don't want to be too hard on the Ashley hotel because the staff were very nice but the decor of the hotel reminded me of my grandmothers house. I stayed there for four nights and the decor was like that of Fawlty towers. I ordered the breakfast but I only had breakfast once as it wasn't great. the hotel is centrally located which was great and that and the nice staff where the only nice thinks about this hotel.
Thank you for staying with us for four days, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Cork