We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
46
91
91
34
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
91
91
34
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bru bar live music every night hostel guests room key would stay again across the river tea and coffee ensuite craic pubs
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Its cheap but its cheerful too. The rooms and bathrooms are basic but its in a good location and the staff are helpful.

Breakfast is cornflakes, toast with butter & jam, orange juice & Tea.

Its a basic Hostel but if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep when you've had a few too many Guinness', its perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Nice place, nice pub, rooms are grand (nothing special, but no better or worse than you expect). Staff are so lovely and so helpful and they're good craic too! I was there for a stag weekend with over 20 others so the place was perfect for that.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

I doubt you’ll ever find someone who’s Irish and rude at the same time, but to make it even less possible, book with Bru Hostel! Amazing and friendly staff. I stayed in a female room for 4 people and everything was perfect. We had a private bathroom, which made the stay even better and I’ll make sure to recommend to my friends and come back.

They also have a bar downstairs with live music and delicious local (and not only) beer!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Aleksandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Overall, it got the job done. We needed a room and that’s what it was. A room. Tight quarters but it had a bed and a bathroom to shower! The staff was accommodating and friendly. Rooms were a bit rough and very worn out but it’s a typical hostel. Now, the bar was awesome! There was live music and the staff was very friendly. Decent priced drinks and an overall welcoming atmosphere. The staff held our bags for us and even got our room early since we arrived a bit earlier than expected. The owner was pleasant as well! Glad we stayed here and if you’re looking for a room and a fun little bar, then this is your place!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

I would not stay there again. The hostel was ok-ish: room was clean but old and trashy, staff was indifferent, atmosphere not nice, hostel is relatively central though. Other hostels cost the same but are much nicer. Stayed a week in Ireland, out of the 6 hostels this one was the least appealing. (I would only stay there again if it was the only hostel open in Cork or if the only alternative were expensive hotel rooms)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews