We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
46
91
91
34
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
91
91
34
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bru bar live music every night hostel guests room key would stay again across the river tea and coffee ensuite craic pubs
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Went over to cork for a long weekend for a friends birthday. Group of lads just wanting a place to get showered and somewhere for a few hours sleep. Wasn't expecting anything special. On arrival we was checked in no problem. Staff were a cracking a laugh and clearly liked to party. Rooms was average bunk bed style dorms. The only thing I thought was a bit dodgy was other people could be in your dorm as new people come and go everyday, your personal stuff didn't feel safe. Nothing went missing but still a recipe for disaster.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank zl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We had a private bunk bed room with attached shower and toilet. Our room faced the main street which, along with the bar music downstairs, made for a loud night. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean. Kitchen was accessible and rather large that allowed for multiple people to cook meals all at once. Wifi did not work in the rooms, only in the common area which closed at midnight. It was hard to FaceTime home or listen to music when internet signal did not stretch into rooms. Arriving early isn't a problem as you can lock belongings away.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank lifeguardonduty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night however unfortunately if you are on the 2nd level of higher there is no wifi connection which kinda ruins that "I just wanna sit in my bed and listen to music" vibe for those who use the internet for music or youtube etc

Apart from that its a cool place with a bar straight downstairs.

Id recommend for groups if you are staying for more than one night.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

You have to go through a bar to get to the reception area of the hostel and to get to the stairs to the rooms (no elevator) because something's up with the outside door that lets you into the outside entrance of just the hostel. Not bad if you're coming in before the bar gets busy, but that would have been a challenge with luggage later in the evening.

The whole place smelled kinda smoky even though there was no smoking in the bar and there were stern no smoking signs throughout the hostel.

We were two floors above the bar, and there was no live music the night we were there, but you could still hear the dull thump of the bass from the music at the bar.

what was louder though was the slamming of doors that lasted well into the night as well.

no parking was provided. It cost us nearly 20 Euros to park in a lot that wasn’t even super close.

We had a private bathroom, which was nice — we had our own key for it. But there were no towels of any kind — not even to dry your hands after you went to the bathroom, which was bizarre to me.

on the up side, there were plugs close enough to our beds that we could charge our phones while we slept and have access to Facebook and such while trying to fall asleep.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

PROS:
- Located very close to the city centre, it has all the facilities nearby.
- Overall clean, even the bar's toilet which is open to the public.
- The bed I slept in was sufficiently comfortable.
- Live music every night at the bar (you get 10% off at the bar if you show your room key).
- Free breakfast, although I didn't check it out.
- Windows have a black curtain that keeps the morning light out.

CONS:
- Rooms are the narrowest thing I've ever seen. They can barely fit 4 people, and certainly not if all of them are standing.
- Since the rooms are so small, there are no chairs/pieces of furniture to sit onto. If your bed is the upper one, you'll have nowhere to sit.
- Sockets are all far from the beds. No shelves near the upper beds --> you have to keep your phone/water/wallet on the bed hoping they won't fall off onto the wooden floor.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank ale5875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews