We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant beat the location.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Cant beat the location.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hotel has an excellent location and is good value, but hotel could be a lot better than it is. The staff dont meet standards, not friendly. The restaurant staff are getting a lot better and the management is very helpful, but otherwise disappointing.

Hotel is old and is looking it's age. The standard rooms need a lot of updating. The food quality is getting better but still needs improvement. And parking is a nightmare. Hotel parking is 5-10minute walk away, and does not feel safe at night.

Best to avoid also during jazz weekend, any wedding or events on in hotel, much too noisy. At night as well coming back the staff lock the door and greet guest extremely unpleasantly and almost criminally. A stay here can be hit or miss.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are bigger but nosier, also older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global Nomad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    640
    253
    139
    74
See reviews for
310
871
97
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We were on a quick overnight stay only. On arrival at the hotel I asked to be upgraded to a superior room. Unfortunately, on arrival at our room I noticeda terrible odour in the room. It had obviously been cleaned but the smell was overwhelming (like dirty socks!). I immediately rang Reception and asked to be changed to another room. The Concierge came to our room. He was very friendly and agreed there was a bad odour in the room. He showed us several other rooms available - which were much nicer than the room we had first been allocated. What a pity they didn't do that in the first place! First impressions do last unfortunately. Other than that the hotel was fine. There was a SPA at the hotel but we didn't have time to use it. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd Floor are Executive Rooms and in a quieter location than those on the 1st floor which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Elgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I booked this hotel for a weekend break with my wife, included (superior room)two nights B&B and one evening meal the third night was free no breakfast. What they failed to state in their offer that the dinner was not from the A la Carte menu you were only allowed 20%. I had the fish cake which consisted of mainly potato with green leaves a tasteless experience. For the main I had the sea-bass which was bland and flavorless, with vegetables some hard others just overcooked. I cant believe that this meal was allowed out any respected chefs kitchen. The breakfast was fine no issues here. The free Wifi only worked for a few hours,I got no satisfaction from reception they stated it was my PC, it wasn't. On the second night loud music woke me up at around 12:00 it continued on until 02:30 ( the glass on the table was vibrating it was so loud) and then you could hear signing until 03:30. Got no satisfaction again from reception just apologies, checked out of the hotel on second day wont be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thats if sound proof., and away from A/C units and looking out on roof tops. If you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmpedAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I would like to apologise for our shortcomings during your recent stay with us in particular for the poor bedroom experience you had to endure. I assure you that this is not the normal standard that we strive to deliver to our guests.

I hope that this will not deter you from returning to us as I know we can do better than this but on this occassion we failed to deliver. When you are returing to Cork please email at jkennedy@imperialhotelcork.ie so I can personally handle your reservation.

Our apologies again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and while the location is great, the hotel is most certainly not!

Our first annoyance was the fact that the car park was a 10 minute walk away, which I paid €8 per day for the pleasure of walking to. Then we checked in which was a pleasant enough affair, that is until I arrive in our room. The room, on the second floor, can only be described as an after-thought in the construction of the hotel. It was a corner room, terribly small, with a tiny window facing there other side of the hotel and over-looking air-conditioning units. There was, for added smallness, a load bearing wall stuck in the middle of our room, which cut the room in two and made it seem smaller still. you can be assured that we only stayed in our room for the minimum of time. The bathroom was of a generous size, complete with black mold on the walls and grout of the bath.

To over come our claustrophobia, I inquired about using the steam room in the spa, which looked great on the hotels website. I was informed, by reception, that it cost €18 per stay per guest, this charge was simply to use the steam rooms/Jacuzzi area not any treatment and to make things worse one has to book into use a steam room!
I have never, in all the hotels I have stayed in, had to pay to use the steam rooms or Jacuzzi. I complained to the manager that it was completely unacceptable to flog the sap as an amenity and then charge for the use of it and we got a complimentary pass to use the facilities for the day.
We used the facilities and it was not worth €18 each! There were no dressing robes in the gents changing room. The showers in the gents changing room had no hot water and 1 of 2 of the showers were broken, so we had to take it in turns to shower! very relaxing!
I informed the staff of this, however it was still broken on the next day we used them. also, the steam rooms were cold, with no steam! I informed the staff and the steam was then turned on.

Over-all it was a terribly disappointing stay, if I wanted to stay in a supermarket hotel, I would have checked into a Jury's, however I chose a 4 star for a reason. Unfortunately this hotel is certainly NOT a 4 star, this hotel has a pretty entrance hall and facade, that is it!

Room Tip: Apparently rooms facing the road (South Mall) are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I would like to apologise for our shortcomings during your recent stay for the number of frustrations you encountered while staying with us. I assure you that this is not the picture I want to paint of the Imperial Hotel to any guest but on this occassion one negative experience was followed by another.

Your comments have been taken on board and the room you stayed in has been recently refurbished in our ongoing bedroom refurbishment programme. The maintanance issues in the spa area have been fixed just after your visit there as the areas you mentioned experienced breakdowns during your time there.

I would love for you to return to the Imperial Hotel when you next visit Cork next so you experience our new bedroom and a maintenance free shower room and steam room. Please email me directly on jkennedy@imperialhotelcork.ie.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel and to showing you a more enjoyable experience.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over St.Patrick's weekend. Nice hotel in an excellent location (probably Cork's most central hotel) close to shops, bars, restaurants and bus station. Room was nice and clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant one night, which was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,501 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,597 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
753 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing