We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing Through the Stars”

Atlantic Sea Kayaking
Ranked #1 of 31 Outdoor Activities in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in the South West of Ireland along the Wild Atlantic Way and established in 1995. We are Ireland's premier sea kayaking company. We believe in providing a safe, enjoyable and memorable experience for all who join us. You can paddle along the tranquil River Lee in Cork City (rated #3 Top City to visit in the Lonely Planet)or explore the shores of West Cork by sea kayak.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We had the most wonderful experience on Lough Hyne with Declan and Ryan. Everything was executed to perfection. Our wet gear was comfortable and allowed us to stay nice and warm while out on the lake. The kayaks were sturdy and easy to use. We had lots of time in each area of the lake and felt we got good value for our money.

We were absolutely charmed to see bioluminescence occurring as the clouds gathered and night fell. We couldn't believe that we never knew such an amazing natural occurrence happened in our own county! It truly felt like we were paddling through the stars, with every stroke, more glow in the dark plankton illuminated our way. It is an absolute must for anyone travelling around West Cork. Declan gave us a fantastic history of the area which was both informative and peppered with banter!

I would recommend wearing gloves as your hands may get wet and cold!

Thank you for such a magical night.

Thank O H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you very much for the kind words. Very well put , It obviously brought out the poet in you .
It is a beautiful trip even without the Bioluminescence. Really glad you enjoyed it.
As regard gloves, they can be a nuisance when trying to grip the paddle. We use Poogies which are like mitts and these are really effective in keeping hands warm. But that week we did have warmer weather and decided they were not necessary .
Promise we will use them if your ever back this way.
Thank you again for the words.
JIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jim kennedy"
in 20 reviews
"lough hyne"
in 43 reviews
"reen pier"
in 17 reviews
"west cork"
in 27 reviews
"magical experience"
in 11 reviews
"night paddle"
in 10 reviews
"bioluminescent plankton"
in 9 reviews
"waterproof gear"
in 5 reviews
"open sea"
in 4 reviews
"salt water lake"
in 4 reviews
"clear night"
in 4 reviews
"magical night"
in 4 reviews
"starry sky"
in 3 reviews
"fish jumping"
in 2 reviews
"marine life"
in 2 reviews
"the shore line"
in 2 reviews
"lost for words"
in 2 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

What an amazing experience! Although we didn't get to see the lake glow due to the brightness of the mean the lake was breathtaking. Declan was just an amazing tour guide who has a passion for nature. The best part was just sitting in silence and being in the moment. It was also a pleasure to talk to Naoise. He was such a great help on the tour as well. We hope to come back again and share this experience with other family members!

Thank Kayleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello Kayleen ,
Our guides enjoyed it as much as you did. Thank you for the words it means a lot to us that you have a great time when with us .
Delighted to see you again any time ,
Jim Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing experience!! Definitely worth doing if in the area. Dress warm but all gear provided. Cosy fire and hot drunks waiting onshore when you return.

Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Megan ,
Thank you for the words . the hot drinks are always great if it is a cold night .
Have a great trip .
JIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We went for a night paddle and it was a completely different experience than anything we’ve ever done. Our guide Declan put us all completely at ease and there was never any worry regarding the trip out on the water. He regaled tales of the area and shared a bit of history about the surrounding areas which was very interesting. It was a gorgeous still night with a lovely bright moon - the only downside to this was that it was too bright to experience the bioluminescence but regardless it was a magical experience.

Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Sarah ,
Thank you for the beautiful comments ,
No bioluminescence but there is so much besides that in our trips . YEs the moon was amazing . A blue moon as well.
Thanks again .
JIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Cannot recommend enough. The night paddle at Reen pier is like a wonderland. Our wonderful guide Declan regaled us with tales of the area's history but by far the standout was the bioluminescence. Truly amazing. At one point we sat with our eyes closed just listening to the sea. If you have the opportunity, book a paddle.

Thank jez132018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Delighted you enjoyed the trip , Thank you for the kind words .
Jim Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlantic Sea Kayaking also viewed

 

Been to Atlantic Sea Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing