We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
One of the highlights of our honeymoon

My husband and I had heard of Jim and his team via YouTube and had to check it out for something... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Leah D
,
Cameron Park, California
Night Time Kayaking with Bioluminescence!

When people ask us what we loved about Ireland, this is one of several things that I mention loving... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
redhead_roaming
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 247 reviews
  
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
228
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lough hyne reen pier jim kennedy west cork magical experience night paddle bioluminescent plankton union hall magical night clear night getting wet waterproof gear salt water lake open sea pitch dark safe hands starry sky
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

What an amazing experience! Although we didn't get to see the lake glow due to the brightness of the mean the lake was breathtaking. Declan was just an amazing tour guide who has a passion for nature. The best part was just sitting in silence and being in the moment. It was also a pleasure to talk to Naoise. He was such a great help on the tour as well. We hope to come back again and share this experience with other family members!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kayleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello Kayleen ,
Our guides enjoyed it as much as you did. Thank you for the words it means a lot to us that you have a great time when with us .
Delighted to see you again any time ,
Jim Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing experience!! Definitely worth doing if in the area. Dress warm but all gear provided. Cosy fire and hot drunks waiting onshore when you return.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Megan ,
Thank you for the words . the hot drinks are always great if it is a cold night .
Have a great trip .
JIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We went for a night paddle and it was a completely different experience than anything we’ve ever done. Our guide Declan put us all completely at ease and there was never any worry regarding the trip out on the water. He regaled tales of the area and shared a bit of history about the surrounding areas which was very interesting. It was a gorgeous still night with a lovely bright moon - the only downside to this was that it was too bright to experience the bioluminescence but regardless it was a magical experience.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank SazzlesTravels0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Sarah ,
Thank you for the beautiful comments ,
No bioluminescence but there is so much besides that in our trips . YEs the moon was amazing . A blue moon as well.
Thanks again .
JIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Cannot recommend enough. The night paddle at Reen pier is like a wonderland. Our wonderful guide Declan regaled us with tales of the area's history but by far the standout was the bioluminescence. Truly amazing. At one point we sat with our eyes closed just listening to the sea. If you have the opportunity, book a paddle.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank jez132018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Delighted you enjoyed the trip , Thank you for the kind words .
Jim Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Not in a thousand years would my husband and I have contemplated kayaking in the dark in the middle of a miserable Irish winter. But, a "Thank you" pressie saw us both do just that and, oh my goodness, what a delightful and memorable surprise. It has to be the most stand-out original gift voucher to get or, for that matter, to give to that special someone.
We already knew Lough Hyne as a hiking setting; it’s a magical place; a sea lagoon surrounded by sheer woods and steeped in history, folklore and mystique. Our Winter Solstice passage around the lake began just before sun-down. Jim’s calm presence and careful prepping dispelled our apprehension and the quality craft they use all add to making this a delightful adventure.
Others have mentioned the magical bio-luminescence as you paddle and, for me, the serenity and interaction with nature was really special. An unforgettable experience!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank WCRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticSeaKayaking, Owner at Atlantic Sea Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi .
Thank you very much for the comment . Really glad you enjoyed the trip , Hope to see you again on the water.
Jim Kennedy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews