We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
198
85
18
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
198
85
18
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cork city q park car park hake reduced rate walking distance to everything central location lovely hotel comfortable beds bars and restaurants checking out a great stay minute walk excellent location city break stayed for one night great night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Rude man with ponytail on front desk accusing male for staying with us (females) implying we were with him sexually. Threatening to kick us out. Felt very uncomfortable. He was hostile and aggressive towards us. Not what we needed in our stay.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank A2616LPjessicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Stewart, Other at Maldron Hotel South Mall Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Dear A2616LPjessicap,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warm Regards,

Alice Harrington
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021

This is a fabulous, very modern hotel with all mod cons, except car parking. Very comfortable bedrooms with delightful en suite. Staff very helpful. Superb self-service buffet breakfast supervised by Daphne from Nice. Delicious, reasonably-priced lunch or evening meal are served in the grill restaurant. Pedestrianised shopping area and English Market only a five minute walk away. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldineo679
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Stewart, Other at Maldron Hotel South Mall Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Dear Geraldine,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you for the wonderful review!
We hope to welcome you to Cork again soon!

Warm Regards,

Alice Harrington
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2021

A nice hotel this but you have to accept it is in the middle of the city and most rooms have no views. The rooms are well serviced, clean, modern and comfortable with all the amenities. The food here we found very good, the breakfast too and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. What more do you want for a one night stay.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Stewart, Other at Maldron Hotel South Mall Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Dear TJA950,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you for the wonderful review!
We hope to welcome you to Cork again soon!

Warm Regards,

Alice Harrington
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2021

Our stay at the Maldron hotel in Cork was very enjoyable, there we no issues or problems at all during our stay. The check in and out process was very easy and quick, with friendly and informative staff. The rooms were very clean and tidy, with comfortable beds, large TVs, and all the facilities you'd expect. There were no issues with noise, the bar and restaurant were very well equipped, and overall it was a great stay. If back in Cork I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JazDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Stewart, Other at Maldron Hotel South Mall Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Dear JazDisney,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Thank you for the positive comments in relation to check in, the team, the facilities and the overall stay!
We hope to see you again in the not-too-distant future.

Warm Regards,

Alice Harrington
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

I have given this hotel 3 stars for the following reason. The first star is for the comfortable bedrooms and the cleanliness, the second is for the staff who were always very pleasant and polite the third star is for Gary, a waiter in the dining room who was very efficient and helpful. He epitomized all that was good in old-fashioned Irish hospitality. I deducted two stars for the following reasons. The first is the chaos in the dining room in evenings. It was overcrowded and there was not enough staff to go round. It was sheer bedlam and the noise was horrendous.
It was impossible to carry on a conversation with friends. We even had to shout in order for the servers to hear our order. Many of the waiting staff were young schoolgirls who had not been properly trained so they had no idea how to do the job properly. Not their fault, it was the managements. However, they always remained polite despite their lack of training. I deducted the second star for the breakfast room where social distancing was completely ignored. It is the only hotel I have visited since the pandemic started where they are still allowing self service breakfast. There was no supervision whatsoever of the queue half of whom did not wear masks. It was a free for all with people bumping into each other as they tried to make their own toast and tea and collect whatever food they needed. It was an open invitation to Covid-19 to do its worst. The server was behind a roped off area and she was wearing a mask at all times. There was no effort made to make people conform to Covid regulations. I brought this to the notice of a manager but nothing was done. I noticed old people having to make their own tea and carry it down to their tables. I saw an old lady with walking difficulties and a stick who had to carry scalding hot tea down to her table. There should have been a member of staff supervising the queue to ensure social distancing but nobody seemed to care one way or the other. Like all chain hotels it was a soulless place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank D4046SKhelenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha Stewart, Other at Maldron Hotel South Mall Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Dear D4046SKhelenm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for your lovely comments about Gary. While I wish you had a better experience in the dining room, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warm Regards,

Alice Harrington
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews