We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning again soon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Returning again soon”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Over the last few years we have stayed at the Blarney Woollen Mill several times and have stayed before, during and after the refurbishment to the rooms. The quality of the rooms does vary according to the aspect, with regard to view and window fittings etc but we have never had an uncomfortable night's stay. The staff were lovely, we have often been given access early to our room after bad ferry crossings, complete with tea and sympathy! The pub was lively on the evenings we stayed, but we heard no noise in the hotel room and enjoyed comfortable, clean rooms on all stays. The service in the restaurant was a little slow, but we were in no hurry, which seems the best way to be, and the food was worth waiting for. The breakfast was good with plenty of staff on hand to help. The antiquity of the building, the location and the people certainly offer more appeal than a modern, city building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the back courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    169
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
115
215
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the Blarney Woollen Mills hotel on New Years Eve 2011. We paid €75 for a 'Superior Double Room', it was in no way 'Superior' it was just a normal double room, which I think could have been cheaper but obviously with the night that was in it, we didn't mind paying the €75 as all hotels increase their prices for these nights.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bed, and room and bathroom was spotlessly clean! We couldn't fault that.

We went for dinner about 8.30pm.. there were only about 10 - 12 occupied tables. Most already eating. So why on earth it took 30 minutes for them to take our order we'll never know. There was at least 6 or 7 waitresses / waiters on including a manager.

When we did get the food, it was beautiful. Well cooked and a great price.

We would stay here again but we wouldn't eat here again as it took so long for them to take our order. We were pretty ready to leave when someone finally came over to us. We did try and call someone a couple of times but they didn't hear us.

Great hotel. I just hope your not overly hungry when you go in and your willing to wait!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthKPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Enjoyed the pub...very quiet and clean...perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthickeysudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Clare
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Ive stayed here twice because of car club meets on here .
Its in a great location in the middle of the village , and sitting outside the pub on a summers day is a very enjoyable experience indeed , but the rooms are very dated and have no ventilation ,only 1 window to open and it's tiny this with the heating on in the start of summer , meant it's a very stuffy room almost uncomfortable , aswell as that both times I stayed I had a noisy fan outside my window , which made it difficult to sleep . The beds are fairly comfortable and it does have tea and coffee making facilities which is nice , overall it's OK at best

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davy_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

stayed there at the weekend nice sized room ,clean with friendly staff and manager. we ate there on saturday night food was good and the salsa music made for a great evening. store was very busy with lots of kids so a bit messy. did not go to castle because of weather.
stay was to get away for weekend and relax overall hotel did it bit friendly and comfy but wouldnt go when santa is around.

Room Tip: ask for room with castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel

Property: Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Address: Blarney Village, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the grounds of Blarney Woollen Mills in the heart of Blarney Village, this stunning hotel resides in an old woollen mill originally built in 1823. Our family run hotel boasts cosy bedrooms with flat screen television, exquisite Irish cuisine and classic afternoon teas. Furthermore, a short walk takes you to the gates of the world famous Blarney castle, Blarney stone and gardens. Bedrooms at The Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel combine period architecture and antique furnishings with modern amenities. Decorated in warm colours, featuring high ceilings, our front facing rooms overlook Blarney Castle. The breakfast includes a traditional Irish breakfast as well as a continental option. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, ample free parking, a fully equipped gym, traditional pub & restaurant facilities, with public transport directly outside the complex. Blarney Village which is steeped in history & folklore is a great choice for travellers interested in visiting Cork city (approximately 9km) & county. Whether you are looking for crafts, food, folklore or fashion, it's all here under the rambling roofs of Blarney Woollen Mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing