We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel we stayed in yet”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed 21 January 2013

stay for our honeymoon on the 17/1/13 until 20/1/13, fabulous hotel wonderful staff and the food OMG, was exceptional, so much so we ate there all the time. the rooms are brilliantly equipped hair dryer ironing board etc. (maybe a bit to warm) .. really and truly couldn't fault the place. the hotel itself is very central in the town and it has its own parking.. would highly recommend this hotel to all..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear JayneB,
Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you chose Temple Gate Hotel as your honeymoon destination. Wishing you both health and happiness during your married life and hopefully you will have further opportunities to stay with us again. It is perhaps an ideal location to celebrate a wedding anniversary! We look forward to welcoming once again to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 584 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

went to meet friends and had dinner from the 2013 special menu. could not fault it,it was exceptional value and top quaility. the service was outstanding and i will definitly be back and would recommend to everyone in ennis to give it a go you will not be dissappointed.......

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Patw,
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. Hopefully your comments will encourage others to visit Legends and enjoy the exceptional value in the restaurant here at Temple Gate. Thank you for “spreading the word” and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed for a Hen weekend last weekend and couldn't fault the place. There was a number of girls there for 2 nights, a few of us could only make it for one night and they only charged us per person instead of per room which was great!

Very reasonably priced, we got b&b and a 3 course dinner which was delicious. The wait staff were lovely, especially Jim from Malaysia...he was so friendly and helpful!!!

The brekkie was delicious. Very central location so within walking distance for everything!!

Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoifeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Aoifeey,
We were delighted to host your hen party recently. The hotel is ideally located just off the centre of Ennis town where avail of our free car parking and take the elevator to your bedroom! I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff and in particular to Jim who is a very popular member of our team.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on a future visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just back from this hotel, well impressed, was surprised this is only a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was nice, rooms spacious, maybe a bit too warm
v central for visiting ennis
could do with a swimming pool

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMurphyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear JMurphy,.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. Although we do not have a swimming pool on site our guests can avail of discounted rates at a leisure centre located within 5 minutes of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Ennis.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is a lovely hotel, in the heart of Ennis.I have stayed here several times and the staff from reception staff to house keeping/ managment are brillant.

Food lovely and rooms great.

Will be back very soon well worth a visit.

Room Tip: rooms on bottom floor quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monica227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Monica227,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us and for your kind comments relating to our staff.
Your return visits are a great endorsement of Temple Gate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you on your visit.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.2 km away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,675 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
525 reviews
1.4 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
7.5 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,328 reviews
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: €76 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing