We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel we stayed in yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best hotel we stayed in yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

stay for our honeymoon on the 17/1/13 until 20/1/13, fabulous hotel wonderful staff and the food OMG, was exceptional, so much so we ate there all the time. the rooms are brilliantly equipped hair dryer ironing board etc. (maybe a bit to warm) .. really and truly couldn't fault the place. the hotel itself is very central in the town and it has its own parking.. would highly recommend this hotel to all..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear JayneB,
Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you chose Temple Gate Hotel as your honeymoon destination. Wishing you both health and happiness during your married life and hopefully you will have further opportunities to stay with us again. It is perhaps an ideal location to celebrate a wedding anniversary! We look forward to welcoming once again to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    239
    85
    54
    23
See reviews for
166
298
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

went to meet friends and had dinner from the 2013 special menu. could not fault it,it was exceptional value and top quaility. the service was outstanding and i will definitly be back and would recommend to everyone in ennis to give it a go you will not be dissappointed.......

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Patw,
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. Hopefully your comments will encourage others to visit Legends and enjoy the exceptional value in the restaurant here at Temple Gate. Thank you for “spreading the word” and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed for a Hen weekend last weekend and couldn't fault the place. There was a number of girls there for 2 nights, a few of us could only make it for one night and they only charged us per person instead of per room which was great!

Very reasonably priced, we got b&b and a 3 course dinner which was delicious. The wait staff were lovely, especially Jim from Malaysia...he was so friendly and helpful!!!

The brekkie was delicious. Very central location so within walking distance for everything!!

Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Aoifeey,
We were delighted to host your hen party recently. The hotel is ideally located just off the centre of Ennis town where avail of our free car parking and take the elevator to your bedroom! I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff and in particular to Jim who is a very popular member of our team.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on a future visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just back from this hotel, well impressed, was surprised this is only a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was nice, rooms spacious, maybe a bit too warm
v central for visiting ennis
could do with a swimming pool

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMurphyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear JMurphy,.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. Although we do not have a swimming pool on site our guests can avail of discounted rates at a leisure centre located within 5 minutes of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Ennis.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is a lovely hotel, in the heart of Ennis.I have stayed here several times and the staff from reception staff to house keeping/ managment are brillant.

Food lovely and rooms great.

Will be back very soon well worth a visit.

Room Tip: rooms on bottom floor quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monica227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Monica227,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us and for your kind comments relating to our staff.
Your return visits are a great endorsement of Temple Gate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you on your visit.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.5 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
7.5 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing