We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Suprising stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suprising stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

A recent short notice trip resulted in me booking this little gem of a hotel at short notice.
From the phone call booking to the pleasant reception on arrival, I couldn't have been made more welcome. I felt they were falling over me to ensure I had all I needed.
The room was just fantastic, warm and welcoming.
I decided to try the Preachers bar for dinner( I had been given a 10% discount voucher on arrival)
Again, the staff we very warm and welcoming, the food was just great. the atmosphere was pleasant and the background music relaxing.
Breakfast next morning was freshly made from a choice selection, with plenty of tea and coffee and fresh fruits and hot baked goods.
I was so impressed, I plan to bring my wife very soon to this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator and service lockers a big help. No AC unit in the room I was in, but warm r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear RobertM,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay and in particular we are very pleased with your your reference to Temple Gate as a “little gem”. We are delighted that you enjoyed both the food and service at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    231
    83
    52
    21
See reviews for
161
290
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed for a long weekend during the Ennis Trad Festival. Excellent central location for exploring the town. Clean & tidy hotel with pleasant, friendly staff.
Our double room was on the 3rd floor and was an adequate size with a comfortable bed and tidy modern decor.
Food served both in the Preacher's Bar and in the restaurant was of a good standard and reasonably priced.
Very pleasant stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepysheepy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Deat Sleepysheepy1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community following your recent stay with us.We are delighted with your recommendation and your comments will inform future guests what to expect when they stay at Temple Gate Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Centrally located hotel. Perfect for strolling the lovely streets of Ennis.Friendly welcome on arrival from reception. Room clean and comfortable. Very warm though at night.
Could have done with extra shampoo/shower gel supplies.
Had a few drinks in the bar. Trad session on which was enjoyable on a Saturday afternoon. Bar menu looked good. Had seafood chowder (lovely) and vegetarian pasta ( tasteless unfortunately as it looked great) . Bar staff very friendly.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Tazzie4,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your kind words to the staff at Reception and in Preachers Pub. We will also be discussing your observations of the Bar Food with the Chef and his team.
We are pleased to hear that you will definitely be returning and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Only stayed here for the one night....The hotel is very "formal". The rooms are very clean and comfortable...although I feel they were also very basic for the amount it cost us to stay!! (about 70 euro!!) The hotel is in the centre of town so this probably reflects in the price!! I would stay here again, although my chances of coming back to Ennis are unlikely as I still have loads of Ireland to see!!!

Room Tip: I have no complaint about the room, and the hotel was very quiet....(however it was a Tuesday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear MandieSurrey,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Temple Gate Hotel. Our prices are in line with similar properties in the area and we feel that we offering good value given our central location and our extensive facilities. I am happy to read that you would stay with us again which is great testament following your visit. So when you have toured the rest of Ireland we look forward to welcoming you on a return trip to Temple Gate Hotel!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is very centrally located, only a minute from O'Connell Street. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There was free parking too. We had a very enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Sheepish7,
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your whole experience including the complimentary guest car parking. I am also happy to read that you found our staff friendly in addition to the cleanliness and comfort of your room. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#4 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.4 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
7.5 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate
Temple Gate Hotel Ennis, County Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing