We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”

Cloister Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of medieval Ennis. This is a modern restaurant that serves fresh locally sourced produce. Wonderful to visit for a light bar meal during the day or more inventive cuisine in the evenings.
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Had a great dinner in the Cloister. Fantastic menu, not too extensive but different and very tasty. I had prawn pil pil which was delicious followed by lambs liver which was superb. Wine was reasonably priced and desert was so tasty. I had bread and butter pudding which I was unable to finish but so delicious. The layout of the dining room could be better thought out as there is something missing but nothing missing with the food or service.

Thank Curious742466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi there Anon.
Thanks very much for your visit, really glad to read how much you enjoyed the food & service and you found some value in our Wine list. Thanks for the business.
Happy Christmas,
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Lovely sitting along with amazing food and friendly staff. We ordered from the a la carte and our waiter even wen't out of his way to accommodate other requests. Couldn't fault the food. This is a must try restaurant if you're in the area

Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi Lorraine D.
Thanks very much for posting such positive words about your visit to us. Very glad to see you were well taken care of during your dinner, and thanks for the business!
Happy Christmas.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Been to Ennis on a number of occasions but never managed to eat here until this weekend. A reservation is definitely a must as this Restaurant is always busy. From the moment we went in until we left the experience was lovely. Lovely friendly staff and delicious food and wine served. 3 course meal the night we were there was €37 per person. There is a good selection of starters, mains and deserts to choose from. Will definitely be making a return visit to Cloisters the next time I am in Ennis.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank macshortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi macshortie.
Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your eventual visit to us here in Ennis. Very happy to see that you had such a nice experience, that's what it's all about. The menu you chose from is our December one, and it seems to be going down very well.
Have a lovely Christmas.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

This is, I think, our 3rd time to visit this restaurant - any time we are in Ennis we make sure it is on our list! What can I say? Fantastic! Well worth booking in advance as any time we have been there, has been very busy. Food is amazing....melt in the mouth....presentation is fantastic....have to say the staff were lovely, attentive, funny and helpful. The price was fantasic - €25 for 3 courses, which was well worth it as food quality and presentation is worth way more than that! It is a MUST do restaurant if you are ever in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gmt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi Gmt2013
It's a great compliment when people make return visits to us, we really appreciate it.
Thanks very much for the lovely things you've posted, they really give us all a lift (both Chefs & front of house). And thanks for your business.
Have a lovely Christmas.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

My husband and I found ourselves with a rare night at leisure from our tour group traveling through Ireland. The desk clerk at our hotel recommended the hotel's restaurant and The Cloister. We decided to venture out and walked over to the restaurant. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who sat us at a lovely table. We proceeded to have the most amazing dinners and desserts. We felt like we were family! We loved it so much we left our tour behind at lunch the next day and went back! We whole-heartedly recommend The Cloister.

Thank wjolson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi wjolson70
Many thanks for your review and "both" of your visits. We are very lucky that the Hotels in town recommend us, and we're very glad that you enjoyed your visits with us so much.
Thanks for your business.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloister Restaurant also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 

Been to Cloister Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing