We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and ambiance are amazing!”

Cloister Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 120 Restaurants in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of medieval Ennis. This is a modern restaurant that serves fresh locally sourced produce. Wonderful to visit for a light bar meal during the day or more inventive cuisine in the evenings.
Reviewed 26 November 2017

My husband and I found ourselves with a rare night at leisure from our tour group traveling through Ireland. The desk clerk at our hotel recommended the hotel's restaurant and The Cloister. We decided to venture out and walked over to the restaurant. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who sat us at a lovely table. We proceeded to have the most amazing dinners and desserts. We felt like we were family! We loved it so much we left our tour behind at lunch the next day and went back! We whole-heartedly recommend The Cloister.

Thank wjolson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi wjolson70
Many thanks for your review and "both" of your visits. We are very lucky that the Hotels in town recommend us, and we're very glad that you enjoyed your visits with us so much.
Thanks for your business.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

an enjoyable dinner. not cheap but not extravagant either. good choice on the menu and friendly staff. was child friendly

Thank JOBrien_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi JOBrien_irl
Thanks for posting your review, glad to read you and the family enjoyed your visit.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Went here for a birthday dinner with my family. The waiting staff are so friendly, always tried to make you feel comfortable. The seating itself was nicely lit however, the aircon or else the open door to the restaurant provided a slight draft.

For starters I ordered the duck pate. This was extremely tasty, portion size was too large. For mains I ordered the pan fried sea bass accompanied with vegetables. The fish itself was over cooked but still tasty. For dessert I ordered the chocolate fondant. Very tasty.

All in all this was a nice meal. For the price we paid I feel that there is probably better value out there.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi Paul S
Thanks for taking the time to post, and glad to read the positives, and sorry to read the areas where you felt we fell short. If you do return to us please say Hi, it would be nice to get the chance to redeem ourselves.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We Went for dinner great room nice decor food amazing had grilled sea bass;wife had lamb shank cooked well with rosemary.the service was very good best in Ennis; make reservations space is limited.

Thank billkid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi billkid00
Thank you for your visit, glad to read that you enjoyed it. Thanks also for taking the time out to post your review.
Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

high quality of food. all fresh. prices are worth. tasty food, excellent chef. waiters are very polite . good selections of meals and wine as well. highly recommended

Thank Lisandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarche, Owner at Cloister Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi Lisandro D.
Thanks very much for your lovely comments, & for taking the time to post them, we really appreciate that very much.
Kind regards, Dermot & all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloister Restaurant also viewed

Ennis, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Cloister Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing