We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cottage offering tranquility and relaxation in...”
Hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub
Cottages Rose Cottage with hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Hot tub
Cottages
Rose Cottage with hot tub
Rose Cottage front garden
Cottages from across the play park
Open plan living space
Living area with wood burning stove
Dining area
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Wellies
Union Canal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BobsBobs
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A cottage offering tranquility and relaxation in beautiful surrroundings”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

As part of our roadtrip around Scotland, we wanted a stopover where we could unwind and relax (six of us in total). My wife had seen this property (can't remember the web site) and had booked it.

The cottage is located just outside Linlithgow and only about 10 miles away from Edinburgh and the airport.

You need transport to get the cottage as it is down a track off a main road. Once you get there (Finlay's instructions were superb), you are greeted by the sheer beauty and location of the cottage. There is space for two vehicles outside the cottage.

First impressions count and when we entered the cottage, the main living area is unbelievably large and yet cosy. The furnishings are contemporary and very comfortable. There's a dining table and kitchen with all the modcons including a full size fridge freezer, combined washing machine/dryer (which came with complimentary capsules). There was a full of cutlery along with bowls, mugs, glasses etc. we had a good selection of towels as well which were nice and soft.

The main living room has two sets of stairs. One set lead up to a room with two single beds (ideal for my sister-in-law's kids) and the other set to a play area which also had a bed (which I could have used to escape my wife's purring).

The main double bedroom has a four poster bed with ensuite bathroom which has an actual bath. Our room had a separate bathroom next door with a shower cubicle and a laundry basket. Bed quality was excellent. No one complained about backache and you really felt relaxed in the cottage environment.

The only TV is in the main room which I think is a great idea. You really do want to relax instead of watching television but there's something very special below the television - a CCTV showing four different wildlife habitats. You don't need television - the nature habitat TV provides hours of entertainment. We saw a badget set and so many types of birds that we hadn't seen before. It's a brilliant idea which is a lovely touch.

The hot tub is great. It is nice and warm. You could sit out in the rain and not be bothered.

There is a walk up the hill but be careful that you have proper kit with you as some of the inclines are fairly steep and being quite healthy, it was a challenge but a worthwhile one seeing the most beautiful scenery.

So how do you entertain the kids - the onsite playground. It has swings, a seated roundabout, see saw, some tunnels and the star attraction - the zip wire. This playground is shared with other properties with the cottage but it was never a problem.

There is wifi available as well if you feel the urge to keep in touch with friendsm family and the social media ongoings in the world.

A big thank you to Finlay who made us feel very welcome. This is a cottage we would love to return to when we're up in Scotland in the near future.

For a holiday cottage rental, this is ideal if you have a family or need to bring friends along. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skogshem
1 review
“A perfect place for families with children, close to Stirling and Edinburgh.”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Rose cottage. We (especially the children) loved the hot tub and it was a relaxing neighbourhood with a large playground next to the cottage as well. The cottage itself was fresh and comfortable, perfect for
hanging around with friends.

We are also thankful for the warm welcome Lynn gave us! She also took very good care of us and made us feel safe during our stay - thanks for that!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia R
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quality and Peaceful Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Rose Cottage was all we had hoped for. It is clean, spacious, and feels very welcoming. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The cottage is also built and finished to a high standard. The bedrooms are spacious with modern quality furnishings, and the bedding and towels were also of good quality. There are even Bath towels provided for the hot tub. The owner has thought of everything and you will find a washer/dryer, Iron, Ironing board, hoover, hairdryers, and just about anything you would have at home down to a good selection of books and board games, amongst many other little extras. Outside there is even a little play area for young children. The location is beautiful and peaceful. It is out of the main town so you do need a car, although it is not far from Linlithgow. We attended a wedding at the Vue near Bathgate. This cost us £13 each way in a taxi. We would definitely stay at Rose Cottage again. Finlay the owner is really helpful but not intrusive. All in all we had a really lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and design of the cottage.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire T
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage and owner - so sorry to leave!”
Reviewed 5 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Rose Cottage on a bit of an impulse at short notice and Findlay was very helpful in fitting us in outside his normal change over days. There were five of us, including 3 small children.

The cottage was lovely - very spacious and well equipped and really cosy. The wood-burning stove was great on a cold winters night. The kids favourite was the hot tub - we had perfect crisp cold nights for it - they now want one in our garden at home!

The location of the cottage is also excellent, only a few minutes from Linlithgow and from there easy access to Edinburgh and Glasgow on the train or by car. It is also very close to Stirling as well. The rural setting of the cottage is beautiful in itself.

Finally, we had a fantastic host in Findlay who was really friendly and helpful. The kids did the bear hunt (great idea!)on our first morning there and, although we missed one, we still got our giant chocolate bar prize. Findlay was always available to answer questions or make suggestions about where to go but was never intrusive. We will definitely be back as four nights were just not enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious of cottage and of course the hot tub
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Definitley the outdoor hottub - followed by the cosy log burning stove
Liked least: more oven utensils for larger groups would be a suggestion - maybe another oven tray and some baking dishes!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$122
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing