We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moorpark Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mrgmmk
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Moorpark cottages are set on the west side of Lewis in Barvas and a straightforward drive from Stornoway. We arrived on a sunny Friday afternoon and after inital confusion as to which cottage we were in, walked into a gorgeous living space and kitchen. Everything was SPOTLESS - well equipped kitchen and plenty of basics in the cupboards (tea, coffee etc). A couple of minutes later we were greeted by Marlene's daughter who explained everything to us.

My nephews were delighted with the presence of the PS3 and a working television! This may seem an odd thing to comment on but we have stayed in rental properties without working TVs in the past. It certainly passed the time on a rather rainy and miserable Saturday and we didn't miss Wimbledon!

The beds were very comfortable and there is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms. A very powerful shower and spacious bathroom. There are even bathrobes!

We were fortunate to be have glorious weather (except the rainy Saturday) while we were staying there and took advantage of the deck to enjoy the sunshine, views and some 'light refreshments'. ;-)

The wifi worked really well however mobile reception was patchy.

Make sure if you do visit that you stock up in Stornoway as Barvas isn't overrun with shopping and dining opportunities - there is a small shop on the road into the village however we didn't visit it.

I would recommend Moorpark Cottages to anyone and if truth be told I was a little reluctant to write this review as I hope they are not booked up the next time we visit Lewis! I would like to take this opportunity to thank Marlene and her family for a fantastic stay, in without question the best self catering accommodation we have had on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKU1410
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great cottage in a quiet location. Everything you need for a stay is available, from a fuly equiped kitchen, bathroom with towels and robes, to books, visitor guides and even a PS3 for that possible rainy night in.
Owners are very friendly and helpfull. We loved our stay. A nice beach is not far a way, and Stornoway, Butt of Lewis and other sights are easy to reach. Barvas does not offer pubs or restaurants. But the facilities in the cottage are excellent to make your own dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrePnj
Turin, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“extremely cozy”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

To be honest, I got no words to describe the feelings that I had during the stay at Moorpark Cottages. You have to live the serenity and the beauty of this hidden piece of quietness located on the Isle of Lewis to understand what I'm saying :)
The house is large, bright and equipped with everything you need (except for the bottle opener. In this place a glass of red wine at the sunset it's a must! :D).
The position is central and well connected with the main streets of the island. You are able to reach Stornway in less than 30 min or the Callanish standing stones in 40 min.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nature outside, the view from the kitchen, the bathroom, comfy bed
Liked least: key pickup, wifi connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDM673
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful cottage. It was in immaculate condition upon arrival and had everything we needed. We arrived late due to the ferry, Marlene met us at the cottage and explained all we needed to know about the property. Every morning we had coffee out on the deck watching the sheep, we will miss them!! Thank you for a wonderful experience in Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Thank you so much, I am pleased you had a great time and it is nice to sit out on the patio having coffee. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really excellent self catering cottage”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I really liked how these houses were clearly designed for the job, generously sized and very well specified and equipped. Very cosy and comfortable and immaculately turned out. Very impressed and made for a great base for our touring trip to the Island. Probably the best self-catering I've stayed in anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design and specification
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing