We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect balance between practicality and luxury”
other travellers have booked this property
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
stylish interiors light and spacious living and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
stylish interiors
light and spacious living and dining
long view over the moor
crafted with care from local stone
well-equipped kitchen
designer touches and original art
organic bedlinen and bespoke tweed furnishing
a warm welcome awaits you
fabulous ensuites
Islay has miles of sandy beaches
sandy beaches in every direction
choose between twin singles or a 6' superking in the second bedroom
sunset view from the hot tub
fascinating clouds
sunset over glenastle
finnish sauna - with a window!
carraig fhadda lighthouse
crystal clear sea at the Singing sands (10 minutes)
The Singing Sands on a lovely May morning
have long walk along the big strand - 8 miles long!
whisky flavoured marigolds? This one's a Laphroaig.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Judith K
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect balance between practicality and luxury”
Reviewed 31 December 2021 for a stay in December 2021

The house is wonderful. The design is very well thought out and the houses are clearly well-maintained and kept immaculate by Hazel the housekeeper. The beds are really comfortable and this makes such a difference. The view from the houses takes one's breath away. Highlights were the Singing Sands and Frazer and Ishbel's amazing seafood platters. We would definitely go back - probably at a different time of year, just to experience the changing landscape and perhaps see more wildlife. As it was, we saw dolphins, seals, deer and wild goats. Such a privilege. A charging point for electric cars would be a bonus; it seemed a shame not to be able to use the clean energy in such a precious landscape. We tried plugging into the utility room with the door propped open but it was so windy we feared we might cause damage. My only gripe is poor communication: emails unanswered or answered very slowly, payments acknowledged very slowly and only after prompting, important messages relating to which property we were staying in left on our landline 300 miles away on the check in day. This meant we had to load the car up again and move to the other house - this could easily have been avoided if the calls had gone to my mobile. Accurate and up to date information and good communication is so important in such uncertain times.

Date of stay: December 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Feb 2022
Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us. I’m delighted you enjoyed the lodge. Frazer and Ishbel’s seafood platters are great favourites with our guests - so glad that worked out for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
I’m sorry we had to move you to the other lodge at short notice as we had an issue with the heating. We did try to let you know ahead and on checking see we do only have a mobile number on record for you. I wonder if you might have had call forwarding set up and perhaps our messages were forwarded to your landline as you drove in and out of signal through Argyll.

There is a car charger at the ferry terminal in Port Ellen and we are currently unable to offer that service (and don’t include the considerable cost of charging cars in our tariff.) I will certainly look in to options for suppliers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jor933
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Immaculate and perfect lodge on a beautiful island - nothing could have been better”
Reviewed 26 October 2021 for a stay in October 2021

We had the most wonderful week staying at the Coillabus Lodge. Islay is a spectacular island - rugged and beautiful, sparsely populated with some of the friendliest people you could meet.
Hours of walks both from the lodge directly, and along the miles of unspoilt beaches around the island, punctuated by marvellous distillery visits, and returning to a beautiful cottage that became a dream home for a week.
The lodge is immaculately kitted out - from the sauna, to the very comfortable beds and luxury linen, and the very well equipped kitchen! Even the outdoor bath was well used.
A perfect and blissful week.

Date of stay: October 2021
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Oct 2021
Thanks you for taking time to write such a lovely review. I’m so glad you enjoyed Coillabus and delighted that you had such a good taste of Islay hospitality from fellow islanders . Haste ye back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M
Portree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Booked in late 2019 for June 2020. Postponed due C19 Pandemic, but finally managed to travel. More than worth the wait.”
Reviewed 12 June 2021 for a stay in June 2021

Now some 8-9 years since Hester Ross (who’s family have long owned this part of the Oa Peninsula on Islay) these lodges will not dissapoint anyone seeking comfort and luxury in a remote wilderness. Well equipped with sauna two large double bedrooms each with a well appointed bathroom nothing is left to chance.

Our two Terriers, Brandy an Irish and Meg an Airedale loved the location and the fact that the area around the Lodges is livestock fenced ensuring the many sheep, hares, rabbits and cattle are safe from worry from visiting dogs is a bonus.

Our 7 days devoid of other humans in an Island still extremely wary of “strangers” with the ongoing anxieties of the C19 pandemic all too soon passed. We explored Islay and Jura fully, covering almost 500 miles of driving whilst there and miles and miles of hillside and loch walks/hikes.Many places remain closed so we totally self catered.

Date of stay: June 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickH129
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxury Scottish Isolation ”
Reviewed 28 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020
1
person found this review helpful

A long planned for 50th birthday celebration and it was down to the wire whether the Scottish government would relax lockdown so we were both able to stay in self catering accommodation but also get the ferry. So we made it just days after and a big thank you to Hester for her patience and also Hazel for the virtual welcome. Absolutely 100% no problems. Kintyre Lodge catches the morning sun and everything is of exceptional quality , so much so it can be difficult to leave if there is Scottish liquid sunshine sweeping across the amazing views. Sauna and additional outside morning bath (star gazing) add to the luxury , as do the 3 golden eagles in the valley below. Great, wild location yet easily accessible (4x4 not needed). The Island was still slowly unlocking, so most of the distilleries were closed as were some of the pubs etc. But the best things in life are free, so the beaches and wildlife don’t recognise lockdown so it was truly a full holiday in superb accommodation. Do go and support the island, everyone was very, very welcoming.

Date of stay: July 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true_trea...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation. We stayed 5 nights in the West facing lodge and experienced wonderful sunsets over Glenastle Lochs and the Atlantic. Superb facilities, including a sauna, air source heat pump, and everything you could wish for. Ideally located, but then Islay is not a large island to travel. Highly recommended for anyone wishing to get away from it all.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.