We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Isolated indulgence”
other travellers have booked this property
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
stylish interiors light and spacious living and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
stylish interiors
light and spacious living and dining
long view over the moor
crafted with care from local stone
well-equipped kitchen
designer touches and original art
organic bedlinen and bespoke tweed furnishing
a warm welcome awaits you
fabulous ensuites
Islay has miles of sandy beaches
sandy beaches in every direction
choose between twin singles or a 6' superking in the second bedroom
sunset view from the hot tub
fascinating clouds
sunset over glenastle
finnish sauna - with a window!
carraig fhadda lighthouse
crystal clear sea at the Singing sands (10 minutes)
The Singing Sands on a lovely May morning
have long walk along the big strand - 8 miles long!
whisky flavoured marigolds? This one's a Laphroaig.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Pim H
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Isolated indulgence”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Coillabus may take a while to get to, but the reward is big if you want to get away from it all without compromising on comfort: my wife, daughter (1) and I stayed for four nights and very much enjoyed the isolation, weather watching, comfortable beds, panaroma's (also from within the sauna) and area (which offers plenty hiking opportunities and other things to do, including the golden mile of peat starting at Laphroig). We also enjoyed the chilled meals from Taste of Bridgend, which are great value and an easy way to have a tasty dinner on your first night.

A stay in winter had its advantages, but we would also love to experience Coillabus another time in spring or summer, with the wind being less gusty (allowing us to use the stargazing tub) and Islay being switched on a bit more.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ababoxall
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Break ”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for eight nights over Christmas. The lodge is in a great and very quiet position on the Oa Peninsula. The accommodation is fitted out to a very high standard and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable. During the stay we got to see lots of wildlife (including the eagles) and experience the wonderful Islay scenery. We were so relaxed by the end of the stay that we didn't want to leave - hopefully we will get the opportunity to return in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Jan 2018
Thanks for taking time - and at such a busy time - to write such a lovely review . I’m so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to Coillabus. A guid new year 2018 to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Islay & it is was a wonderful trip including the delightful Cal Mac ferry which is a super way to get to the island & such good value. Coillabus is superb so peaceful & tranquil & everything you could possibly need. Our two dogs enjoyed the fenced in garden & we enjoyed amazing walks on beaches which were deserted.

Thank you to Hazel for greeting us & showing us the ropes & apologies Hester that the dogs took a liking to the Highland Cow doorstop. We do hope to return to Islay in the future.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Jan 2018
Thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review of Coilllabus. We do think that the Calmac sail is one of the best . I’m glad your dogs enjoyed your stay too. Brave of them to take on the highland cow . We’ll be delighted to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billkae
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything about this place is 5*”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I came with a partner and left with a fiancée!
Romantic cannot start to describe how delightful this place is. We both loved the place and relaxed immediately we arrived after a 16 hour journey from Surrey. Everything in the lodge is designed for you to unwind and relax. A large spacious kitchen/lounge with the most fantastic sunsets. The area is so quiet we could only hear the grass moving in the wind while relaxing in the outside bath, yes an outside bath! A wacky but wonderfully gorgeous way to relax and look at the stars, followed by a hot sauna.
We felt the lodge reflected the whole spirit of Islay. A wonderful island full of beauty, history, welcoming people and whisky!
We would love to return one day.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Congratulations! We loved having you at Coillabus and we're chuffed to bits to have such a lovely, thoughtful review. Thank you. We especially love that you love our 'wacky but wonderfully georgeous' outdoor bath- its definitely a Star Tub (and we like to think it's just a bit outrageously romantic). I hope you will come back one day and we always offer a special deal for those special returning guests who get engaged during their stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieDan...
Dana Point
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stay here if you are vacationing on Islay and want to really experience the island.”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Everything about these eco lodges are excellent. Hester was terrific to work with. The cottage was beautiful, clean and well situated. all of the recommendations we were given for or stay were perfect. We had Chef Scott come and prep dinner one night for us and it was a terrific representation of the fresh food found on Islay. I am a professional chef in California and can tell you that the food was marvelous. I would recommend getting a car for driving around the island. we rented a car from mackenzie car hire and it worked out very well. Dinner at Sea Salt was exceptional! Do not miss the water to whiskey experience at Laphroig..wow! If you get a chance to go to Islay House, do..it is going to be a fantastic hotel once it is completed. We walked to the American monument from the cottage.. the countryside is everything we thought Scotland would be. and the most important thing is that the people of Isaly are just so friendly.. we had the best time and will be back again...I am in love with the Highland cattle...the cutest redheads ever!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for taking time to post this review . I can't believe you fitted so much in to your stay with us and I'm glad you found the recommendations helpful. There's so much to do on Islay it's hard to choose. We loved having you stay with us - please send us some more lovely guests from California!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.