We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service still top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2017

When booking the hotel for one night online I had requested a room that wasn't at the very end of the corridor as we had last time and wish I hadn't! The room we got was room 207 and there was a loud droning noise outside the window on the flat roof that the window overlooked!! I popped back to reception to ask if this noise was going to be constant and was advised it would stop at night because it was the kitchen fans. However no mention of it starting again early in the morning!
The room was clean and of good standard if a little bit tired because the wallpaper on the tv wall was marked and a bit grubby.
Breakfast was good with the waiting staff friendly and efficient. On check out we were asked by the Manager how our stay had been and I did explain that had we been staying more than one night I would have requested a room move. I did also tell him that the the customer service is still of the high quality as last year and was warm, friendly and genuine which is so important. We will be back just not to room 207!!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 207 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves as a group in the best experience we can for our guests. I am sorry that you had an issue with room 207, this matter will be looked in to. Look out for our new exciting deals coming soon and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stayed here before and found it very good value for price. Unfortunately not this time. Found ourselves in room with rather foul smelling wet room. Not only did it smell but it contained former occupiers shower gel lying on floor behind curtain in wet room. I can't help but question cleanliness level. Floor has brown marks where dirty stagnant water has been left lying too long. I counted three bulbs in main room and one in bathroom broken and couldn't even see well enough to sort hair or makeup. Television had no signal. If we could have found elsewhere at such short notice we would have left. We had a family celebration to attend and as such didn't have time to locate elsewhere. Spent uncomfortable night and even breakfast was a disaster as they couldn't get a simple eggs benedict acceptable enough to eat. It went straight back. In all my years I have never been served eggs benedict on a croissant. The staff are however are what every hotel should have. Attentive, mannerly, efficient, helpful and polite. Front line service isn't this hotels problem. Maintenance, kitchen and housekeeping is however a letdown. I could excuse kitchen over certain things as we all have off days but not over using completely wrong items on a well known dish. I absolutely hated the room and just couldn't bring myself to use the shower even after they had done best to mask smell as floor just appeared so dirty. Ended up returning home as soon as we checked out instead of joining family and friends for lunch in Prestwick to round off weekends celebrations as felt rather grubby. Funny thing is the hotel only has one wet room and as our booking had been made weeks before our event I do believe that we were moved there last minute as someone else who probably had late booking had been given it and they had complained and had been moved to original room booked in our name before we arrived. Not happy at all

Room Tip: Request type of room required just in case you end up with wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and would ask if you could kindly contact reception on reception@carlton-prestwick.com.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Overnighter due to friends event. Arrived after four booked in and even managed to get table in restaurant for 6pm as we had to leave for venue at 7:30pm. Entering room the smell was unpleasant and we found that it was coming from the bathroom which turned out to be a wet room which had been poorly cleaned and still contained previous residents toiletries lying on floor behind curtain. Brown marks on floor indicated stagnant dirty water had been left there in past for too long and then not cleared efficiently. Television wasn't even connected to aerial required for signal. Cannot fault staff as although they couldn't move us to other room as they were full they did attempt a cleanup. I personally believe that whoever had initially been put there and had booked in earlier than us complained and were moved to room that we should have been in. Our booking had been made nearly a month in advance and can't believe that the only room with wet room in whole hotel was allocated a month in advance when it hadn't been specifically requested. Will say evening meal was very pleasant. After a very uncomfortable night due to the worst cheapest pillows I have ever encountered we went to breakfast and ordered. I decided to get eggs benedict. Shouldn't have. It was poor excuse for the dish and couldn't eat it. Hard eggs hard bacon served on a croissant not even a muffin and the hollandaise sauce was so thick and so tart it was inedible. Only saving grace was the excellent staff who do go above and beyond and if hotel matched staff there would be a waiting list to visit. Pity we won't be looking forward to future visits

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and would ask if you could kindly contact reception on reception@carlton-prestwick.com.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed on Sunday 7th May. The hotel is very clean and boasts a friendly atmosphere. We had a dinner bed and breakfast deal and what a deal it was. It was excellent value for money, the food was first class and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The room also had tea/coffee facilities and also an iron and ironing board (although i think they would be the least used utensil). The staff are exceptionally friendly and this is matched by their attentiveness and professionalism. My wife and i certainly look to return again very soon as this hotel promotes everything that is good in the industry.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves as a group in the best experience we can for our guests. Look out for our new exciting deals coming soon and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Went here on a 5pm voucher which had been given to us as a gift. Reception ensured a walk in shower room on the ground floor for us and it wasn't far from reception either. Room overlooked what seemed to be the staff car park but there was no noise disruption. Plenty of hanging and drawer space plus iron and board. Tea and coffee plus biscuits also provided. Biggest tv I've seen in a hotel room adorned a wall but it wasn't out of place in the modern well presented room. Roller blinds and curtains ensured no light waking you at dawn. Restricted two course menu on the deal but not a bad choice. Pineapple juice drinks were a bit insipid. Starters were exceptionally good. Prawn and crayfish cocktail with just the right amount of sauce and a huge portion of chicken liver pate with bramble, cinnamon and cranberry preserve. Bode well for the mains but sad to say they were a let down. Chicken stuffed with haggis and black pudding with veg and potatoes - stuffing was good, as was the peppered cream sauce but chicken tasteless. Veg could only have been waved over a steamer as it was almost raw, no way even al dente. The chicken and chorizo tagliatelle was a bit better but the chorizo had a strange consistency and, again, the chicken was bland. Both the waitress and Chris (not sure if he was duty manager or what) offered to change the chicken meal, which was the one we mentioned to them, but we just put it down to a bad choice. Breakfast was good with well cooked bacon, fat pork sausage, potato scone and decent poached egg. Beans, tomato and mushrooms also on offer. Good selection of cereals, some juices and fruit. Nice looking muesli type dish also available plus individual cheeses, jams, toast, croissant and some cooked ham. Coffee and tea brought to the table on request. We had a bit of a problem with the cistern in the bathroom and, after a second phone call to reception, Chris (yes, same one as in restaurant) came to sort it out. A man of many talents. Overall, I would say fine for an overnight or two and the hotel's biggest asset is their staff.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves as a group in the best experience we can for our guests. Look out for our new exciting deals coming soon and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.8 km away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
638 reviews
1.9 km away
Western House Hotel
5.7 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
735 reviews
27.1 km away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,184 reviews
3.4 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range: €71 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing