We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
419
238
57
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
238
57
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first class tribute night overnight deal lovely hotel bottle of wine executive room course meal special thanks main course beef an overnight stay dinner bed and breakfast cannot fault from start to finish excellent value for money reception staff car park
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stayed here before and found it very good value for price. Unfortunately not this time. Found ourselves in room with rather foul smelling wet room. Not only did it smell but it contained former occupiers shower gel lying on floor behind curtain in wet room. I can't help but question cleanliness level. Floor has brown marks where dirty stagnant water has been left lying too long. I counted three bulbs in main room and one in bathroom broken and couldn't even see well enough to sort hair or makeup. Television had no signal. If we could have found elsewhere at such short notice we would have left. We had a family celebration to attend and as such didn't have time to locate elsewhere. Spent uncomfortable night and even breakfast was a disaster as they couldn't get a simple eggs benedict acceptable enough to eat. It went straight back. In all my years I have never been served eggs benedict on a croissant. The staff are however are what every hotel should have. Attentive, mannerly, efficient, helpful and polite. Front line service isn't this hotels problem. Maintenance, kitchen and housekeeping is however a letdown. I could excuse kitchen over certain things as we all have off days but not over using completely wrong items on a well known dish. I absolutely hated the room and just couldn't bring myself to use the shower even after they had done best to mask smell as floor just appeared so dirty. Ended up returning home as soon as we checked out instead of joining family and friends for lunch in Prestwick to round off weekends celebrations as felt rather grubby. Funny thing is the hotel only has one wet room and as our booking had been made weeks before our event I do believe that we were moved there last minute as someone else who probably had late booking had been given it and they had complained and had been moved to original room booked in our name before we arrived. Not happy at all

Room Tip: Request type of room required just in case you end up with wet room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and would ask if you could kindly contact reception on reception@carlton-prestwick.com.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Overnighter due to friends event. Arrived after four booked in and even managed to get table in restaurant for 6pm as we had to leave for venue at 7:30pm. Entering room the smell was unpleasant and we found that it was coming from the bathroom which turned out to be a wet room which had been poorly cleaned and still contained previous residents toiletries lying on floor behind curtain. Brown marks on floor indicated stagnant dirty water had been left there in past for too long and then not cleared efficiently. Television wasn't even connected to aerial required for signal. Cannot fault staff as although they couldn't move us to other room as they were full they did attempt a cleanup. I personally believe that whoever had initially been put there and had booked in earlier than us complained and were moved to room that we should have been in. Our booking had been made nearly a month in advance and can't believe that the only room with wet room in whole hotel was allocated a month in advance when it hadn't been specifically requested. Will say evening meal was very pleasant. After a very uncomfortable night due to the worst cheapest pillows I have ever encountered we went to breakfast and ordered. I decided to get eggs benedict. Shouldn't have. It was poor excuse for the dish and couldn't eat it. Hard eggs hard bacon served on a croissant not even a muffin and the hollandaise sauce was so thick and so tart it was inedible. Only saving grace was the excellent staff who do go above and beyond and if hotel matched staff there would be a waiting list to visit. Pity we won't be looking forward to future visits

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and would ask if you could kindly contact reception on reception@carlton-prestwick.com.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed on Sunday 7th May. The hotel is very clean and boasts a friendly atmosphere. We had a dinner bed and breakfast deal and what a deal it was. It was excellent value for money, the food was first class and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The room also had tea/coffee facilities and also an iron and ironing board (although i think they would be the least used utensil). The staff are exceptionally friendly and this is matched by their attentiveness and professionalism. My wife and i certainly look to return again very soon as this hotel promotes everything that is good in the industry.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves as a group in the best experience we can for our guests. Look out for our new exciting deals coming soon and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Went here on a 5pm voucher which had been given to us as a gift. Reception ensured a walk in shower room on the ground floor for us and it wasn't far from reception either. Room overlooked what seemed to be the staff car park but there was no noise disruption. Plenty of hanging and drawer space plus iron and board. Tea and coffee plus biscuits also provided. Biggest tv I've seen in a hotel room adorned a wall but it wasn't out of place in the modern well presented room. Roller blinds and curtains ensured no light waking you at dawn. Restricted two course menu on the deal but not a bad choice. Pineapple juice drinks were a bit insipid. Starters were exceptionally good. Prawn and crayfish cocktail with just the right amount of sauce and a huge portion of chicken liver pate with bramble, cinnamon and cranberry preserve. Bode well for the mains but sad to say they were a let down. Chicken stuffed with haggis and black pudding with veg and potatoes - stuffing was good, as was the peppered cream sauce but chicken tasteless. Veg could only have been waved over a steamer as it was almost raw, no way even al dente. The chicken and chorizo tagliatelle was a bit better but the chorizo had a strange consistency and, again, the chicken was bland. Both the waitress and Chris (not sure if he was duty manager or what) offered to change the chicken meal, which was the one we mentioned to them, but we just put it down to a bad choice. Breakfast was good with well cooked bacon, fat pork sausage, potato scone and decent poached egg. Beans, tomato and mushrooms also on offer. Good selection of cereals, some juices and fruit. Nice looking muesli type dish also available plus individual cheeses, jams, toast, croissant and some cooked ham. Coffee and tea brought to the table on request. We had a bit of a problem with the cistern in the bathroom and, after a second phone call to reception, Chris (yes, same one as in restaurant) came to sort it out. A man of many talents. Overall, I would say fine for an overnight or two and the hotel's biggest asset is their staff.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves as a group in the best experience we can for our guests. Look out for our new exciting deals coming soon and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

When I first entered the restaurant my initial reaction was wow, it was a hot sunny day and the AC was set just perfect.. the restaurant itself had a nice relaxed atmosphere with great staff especially Haily she made us feel really welcome and couldn't have been helpful, we had lunch off the lighter bites menu as it was all a new menu, and everything I seen come out of the kitchen looked absolutely amazing thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Would definitely go back. 5 stars for food service and staff.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves as a group in the best experience we can for our guests. Look out for our new exciting deals coming soon and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews