We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hydro Hotel Pitlochry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 28 March 2012

First holiday ever with Shearings upgraded to the premier room as my husband is disabled so had a lounge and bedroom both with tv's, well worth the extra money, kept clean and tidy every day could not fault it for a 3* seperate shower and bath
The staff were very helpfull and polite at all times
One evening when my husband was unable to go down for dinner it was provided in the room for him
Food ok could pay a little extra if you wanted to upgrade your meal service was prompt and never had to wait (bar meals did have to wait a bit too long)
Enjoyed the entertainment both evenings and no waiting at the bar
If you are wheelchair disabled this hotel is accessible
We had a very enjoyable holiday well done and thankyou to all the staff

Room Tip: premier room with a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Hi, Thanks for the positive review and I have already passed on your comments to the team. I am pleased to see you appreciated our Premier Room and felt it was value for money. If you come again let us know and we will try to give you the same room again.
Thanks
Chris Stanton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 768 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Hotel rooms are a bit tired but reception and bar areas nice.

Food was good with a varied menu.

Service was excellent and staff were efficient and firendly.

Entertainmennt we saw was good.

Leisure facilities are a binus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ini21312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Hello,
Thanks for your post and I am pleased all the qualities you were looking for were firmly in place.
Regards
Chris Stanton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

you are treated like a second hand citizen if you don't book direct with this hotel you get what they call a standard room wallpaper peeling of the walls the bathroom disgusting the television needs wound up its that old and they put you in a family room with bunk beds even though you're a couple on you're own and if you want a night cap/ drink after 10.45 they don't have bottled/cans of coke or ice and the lights are put out and everything shut but heyho the nght porter will seve you anything in that atmosphere but its still 90.00 night to stay in the pits book a good bed and breakfast in pitlochry if eveywhere else full because that is why we ended up there thats why they on late rooms as they are never fully booked ?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank viewc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Hi, Sorry the Hotel did not meet your expectations. I can promise you that regardless of how you book our intentions are to treat everybody the same. All 'late rooms' bookings are based on standard accommodation with breakfast and on this occasion we gave you a big family double.
Thanks for the post and I will certainly take your comments on board and review them with the team.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the Hydro on four occasions during February 2012. Without exception, we were made very welcome. All the staff are very friendly and professional and nothing is too much trouble. It would not be fair to pick out one member of staff as they were really great. We must however mention Frank, reastaurant manager, who was totally on the ball at all times. The food is very good and plentiful and served with a smile. The bar staff were attentive and good humoured at all times. Reception was so helpful, you could ask anything and get good advice. Bedrooms were clean and spacious but require a little updating. Public rooms very welcoming and stylish.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Hi, it was nice chatting with you and I'm glad your visits to our Hotel during the month of February were to your satisfaction. I am pleased that in coming here so often in such a short space of time you mentioned how consistent we are. Thats a great compliment and something we work hard towards achieving.
See you next time
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a 5 day break with Shearings Coaches. It was brilliant from start to fnish. The staff could not do enough for you and the food was beautiful - very well presented and really tasty. The room was very cosy, and as we stayed at the beginning of Feb, the whole hotel ( and room) was always lovely and warm. We used the pool, jaccussi and sauna and they were fabulous, highly recommended.The hotel is situated in a really lovely area and only a 5/10 min walk to the town. I would like to congratulate the Manager for running such a lovely hotel -- he really has got it SPOT ON!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAROL145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Cheers, thanks for a great review. We work really hard to achieve a consistent standard that customers can rely upon. Just about everyone I speak to feel the same way as you do about The Pitlochry Hydro and I am pleased you found the time to post this review. See you again at some point.
Best regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
0.4 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
1.2 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,272 reviews
0.6 km away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
0.8 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: €51 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing