We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carra Beag Guest House
Ranked #31 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I was looking for a warm, comfortable place to stay as a single traveller while visiting friends in Pitlochry. The room was clean and comfortable and the generous breakfasts excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was very good value for the area.
Any downsides? No proper shower in this room (but a nice big bath) and the blind on the main room window was hard to keep closed though I did manage it in the end. (hopefully that's fixed by now)

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are good value especially for single travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ge0rgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Had a weekend away in Pitlochry with friends to see The Enchanted Forest. Booked this B&B and it was excellent. Easy walk to the town, rooms were lovely comfy beds and lovely breakfast. The staff were excelant very friendly. The front sitting room was fab after we came in at night we sat in there with a bottle of wine and had a blether. We would definately stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This is a lovely B and B. It is close to town. The breakfasts are brilliant. Our room and the bed were very comfortable. Our room had a beautiful view. There is on site parking. Very easy to come and go as suited us.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We needed somewhere to stay for a week to attend a wedding in Pitlochry. The Carra Beag could not have been a better choice.

A family run place, it is excellent value for money. Spotlessly clean, friendly and welcoming, within a short while you are made to feel as if you've stayed here before. The breakfast are amazing, you can tailor the many choices to suit yourself along with a seemingly endless supply of coffee and four choices of fruit juices. Rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee facilities, TV and even wine glasses and tumblers should you wish to take a wee dram back to your room of an evening. Rooms serviced daily with clean towels if needed, fresh tea and coffee and even shampoo and shower gell provided. For those evenings when you've had enough walking and sightseeing, there's a huge and comfortable lounge to relax in. The beds are extremely comfortable and along with clean and fresh air, the lack of city light pollution and late night traffic noises, a good night sleep is guaranteed. Occasionally, you'll hear the rather soothing sound of a train at the far side of the village but once night comes, even they seem to travel much more quietly than the daytime.

The WiFi is not only free but available at full strength throughout the property.

More than adequate parking at one vehicle per room but I suggest you approach the entrance with the guest house on your right as to approach from the other direction involves a very sharp turn and swinging out onto the other side of the road.

There are plenty of places to eat to suit every pocket within a ten minute walk, from a Chinese takeaway to high quality restaurants. I recommend the Auld Smiddy, a ten to fifteen minute easy walk along the main Street at the top end of Pitlochry. If it's fish and chips you're after, try the Plaice to be, five minutes around the corner from Carra Beag.

Our friends, (who live in Pitlochry and whose wedding we attended), will not be moving away any time soon so we will be returning to Pitlochry again in the future. The Carra Beag will without a doubt be my very first point of call to book accomodation. I would give them more than five stars if I could.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I stayed here as a child, and then back in the 80s, so a lot has changed over the years, but it remains a reasonably priced stay in a lovely house with ample parking and easy access for walking into the town centre and other areas. The place changed ownership a few years ago and I think the place is gradually getting refurbished. We had a room right at the top, and there were a few things about it that needed a facelift, and the toilet tended to move about a bit, but it had everything we needed, and we would happily return - again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SwindonMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 km away
Annslea Guest House
Annslea Guest House
#35 of 66 in Pitlochry
85 reviews
0.6 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#9 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,000 reviews
6.6 km away
Red Brolly Inn
Red Brolly Inn
#1 of 1 in Ballinluig
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Bendarroch House
Bendarroch House
#2 of 3 in Strathtay
130 reviews
5.8 km away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
456 reviews
0.9 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carra Beag Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carra Beag Guest House

Address: 16 Toberargan Road, Pitlochry PH16 5HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: €68 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carra Beag Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carra Beag is a magnificent Victorian Villa standing above the Scottish Highland town of Pitlochry. We pride ourselves in offering our guests traditional first rate hospitality at a value for money prices, the way only a family run Guest House can. Our rooms are warm, clean and comfortable, our breakfasts legendary. Rich & Sally look forward to making you welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carra Beag Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carra Beag Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing