We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful gluten free fish supper”
Review of The Plaice to Be

The Plaice to Be
Ranked #1 of 6 Quick Bites in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 7 November 2018

This was my second visit to this fantastic fish and chip shop and it was every bit as good as I remembered from last year. The staff were friendly and efficient, donations were still welcome for the sauces and plastic cutlery, and the gluten free fish batter was simply wonderful.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Rosiemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

We were in Pitlochry for the enchanted forest event and were pointed to this fish and chip restaurant for some food on a cold night. The service was slick given the number of people looking for a similar meal and the quality of the product was good. We had a selection of items from the menu and everybody was very satisfied. Would go back here if I was in the area again.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heike0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Take away chip shop that serves the best fish and chips I have ever tasted.
They have a smoked fish on the menu that I will certainly try the next time I visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank williamtb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Went here on a recent visit to area served quickly and food was quick staff friendly good clean shop and great portion size both chips and fish were cooked perfectly can’t fault in any way

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Gregorcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We’ve been coming to the Plaice to Be for years now as have family living in Pitlochry and we come every 6 months or so, and still the guy who runs the place asks how we are and how my grandma is doing! Yesterday we went in there and were £2 short and he just said “bring it next time your up”, and this hasn’t been the first time he’s let us, and other people, off some money. He loves to help charity and any time we’ve tried to tip him he’s insisted we put it in the charity box. By going to this chippy you really feel like your giving back to the community as well as getting fresh and tasty food

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank littlemissyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plaice to Be also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Grandtully, Pitlochry
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Plaice to Be? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing