We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous weekend break”
Review of Ellangowan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellangowan House
Ranked #29 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous weekend break”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

What a beautiful place for a b&b, excellent food, hospitality and luxurious room. Would highly recommend for a couple or a family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We can't fault this place in any way. Our upstairs room was the largest double room we have seen in any of the b&bs or hotels we have stayed in. There was plenty of storage and we even noticed a childs travel cot in wardrobe so thats handy for anyone with kids. Bathroom was also spacious and lovely. Superb view of local scenery from room window.

The owners were a lovely couple and eager to help. My partner missed breakfast both mornings and i was allowed to take up tea and toast to room to eat later. They couldnt have been more helpful. My breakfast was lovely both mornings. Dining room and surrounding area can be used at any time

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseshoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We came across this lovely guest house by chance, which is centrally located. We had a beautiful ensuite room with views looking out across the town and hills of Pitlochry. Breakfast was excellent and the hosts very nice and helpful. Would certainly come again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Ellangowan is a very beautiful B&B in a quite area of Pitlochry within easy walking distance of the main bars and shops. Our first floor room was excellent, very large with a monster big bathroom and excellent view. Many of the popular Pitlochry walks can be started from the steps of the B&B making it a great place to stay. Fantastic breakfast and great patio area overlooking the gardens to sit and relax at the end of a hard day on holiday. A true home from home experience we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willmoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The Ellengowan House is a wonderful place that we as a family had very much looked forward to visiting for a long time. We were not disappointed by the experience and found the quality of care second to none. Perhaps the thing that lives long in the memory was the tremendous welcome and continued hosptality. Nothing was too much trouble and the cleanliness and attention to detail were superb. A little bit of luxury at a reasonable price indeed!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerscrimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 km away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Pitlochry
284 reviews
0.9 km away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
596 reviews
0.3 km away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#8 of 66 in Pitlochry
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Riverwood
Riverwood
#1 of 3 in Strathtay
225 reviews
0.5 km away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,154 reviews
0.8 km away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellangowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellangowan House

Property: Ellangowan House
Address: Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellangowan House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Ellangowan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellangowan House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing