We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely thatched cottage in an idyllic...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Claire H
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely thatched cottage in an idyllic setting.....yet close to Dundee and Perth.”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great communication before booking this accommodation. Although the owners live alongside it did not feel like we were imposing....instead we were made very welcome. The thatched cottage looked exactly like images. Delighted with the local welcome pack. Surprised how warm the cottage was.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The rural situation yet close to everything we needed.
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments! We like to give our visitors the same experience as we would like when we are on holiday! We hope to welcome you back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico_Guen...
Saalfeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful holidays....”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was a fair braw holiday in a super layed oat, wee comfy cottage. The village of Rait had a guid link tae the motorway but it is real quiet and idyllic. When yer looking for a guid place to relax and recover but still be central to visit tourist attractions and towns then yer in the right spot in this cottage from the Lawrences. Mr. + Mrs. Lawrence are awfy kind hosts and are ayeways there tae help, also their daughter Pamela.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Loving the very Scottish response! Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciorstaid...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely welcome with local wine & shortbread. Thank you very much!! Cottage was immaculate when we arrived. Very comfortable & cosy. Had everything we needed. Lovely big well kept garden. Great location for Perth & Dundee & was so quiet & peaceful. Thank you very much Fraser, sheens & Pamela. Hope to be back!! Very reasonably priced

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stream!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Thank you for a lovely review! I'm glad you found Fernbank cosy and comfortable :-) We hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid R
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful thatched cottage in quiet village, clean, convenient, wonderful!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This little cottage is an absolute beauty, has lovely rooms and really everything one needs. It's in a nice quiet location but Dundee and Perth are easy to reach. The owners are wonderful people! Our next stay in this area will definitely be at Fernbank Cottage again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you for such a lovely comment! We look forward to welcoming you back to Fernbank again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna E
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage.”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our 4th stay at Fernbank - we keep coming back as Pamela and family are wonderful hosts. This year we found the addition of wi-fi most welcome , it was most useful googling ideas for days out that weren't included in the leaflets folder.
The cottage is set in a peaceful location - a welcome change from noisy traffic. Having rented many cottages over the years we look forward to our stays here as we know how cosy it is in the evenings, snuggling to sleep under a thatched roof.
Everyone should stay here - Sheena , Fraser and Pamela are the friendliest people we know.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Aw, thank you very much for such a lovely message! We're always pleased to welcome you back to Fernbank and hope to see you all again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing