We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“shortbreak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunbank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunbank House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shortbreak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

we spent just 3 days and wished we could have stayed longer. the hotel was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. bedrooms were very good and the facilities were excelent.
breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from, as was the evening meal, very tasty.all in all a very good break.

Room Tip: if our room was anythink to go by all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    51
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
35
144
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very friendly and attentive owners, really made us feel special. Room was comfortable with a nice view over the city. Breakfast and dinner were high quality, well cooked and well presented. Service was excellent. Highly recommended.

Some road noise as our room overlooked the main road to Dundee, but more than compensated for by the outstanding service we received and the view over the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halcombe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I took my family here for a long weekend to attend a wedding. We took a double room which had a huge bed but still sufficient space to set up our travel cot. The owner and staff were quite friendly throughout our stay.

Our room overlooked Perth through lovely sash windows. For the couple of nights we were there the whole hotel was astonishingly hot, with no way of controlling the heating. We opened the window overnight but did get a bit of traffic noise late evening and early morning.

The room had an ensuite shower and bath. The shower was a little feeble and didn't have much in the way of temperature control (hot or off), but the bath was well sized. Shampoo and soap were supplied - very pleased to see the Scottish Fine Soaps brand, but would have liked some shower gel also.

The breakfast was enjoyable. A small selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt was available with a strangely constructed menu offering variants of a full cooked breakfast. Upon asking it was confirmed that free range eggs were used. Tea, coffee and toast were, of course, also offered with (I think) home-made jam.

As for price, it was reasonable. One great annoyance was that the owner chose to pass credit card charges on to the customer (1.5% Visa/Master, 3.5% Amex). I felt that this was totally unneccessary and a disappointment to an otherwise nice hotel. As another reviewer has mentioned, this is more of a very good B&B than a 4-star hotel.

I would consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurManInJura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We enjoyed our time here. Lovely breakfasts, and very pleasant, friendly owners. It is very convenient for Perth city centre, and surrounding areas. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have good view of Perth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaosgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here with my wife after a day at Perth races. The owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The room we had was very comfortable a we had a good breakfast I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrizz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.7 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
5.8 km away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.0 km away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.2 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbank House Hotel

Property: Sunbank House Hotel
Address: 50 Dundee Road, Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbank House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sunbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbank Hotel Perth
Sunbank House Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing