We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
253
161
57
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
161
57
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousedriving rangesister hotelthai curryprawn cocktailfrom start to finishdinner bed and breakfastvery pleasant stayroom was spotlessfirst classevery member of staffleisure facilitieswedding meallovely hotelgood nights sleepcourse mealovernight stay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018

This is the best hotel I ever use in the UK and friends from Germany Holland agree. The room are fantastic, and the food, but most of all the staff, from April at reception to Mary and Amy in the restaurant. All lovely and so friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the golf course, so 4,6,8,12
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words.

I am delighted that you enjoy all our facilities, and please keep spreading the word about us.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Both my husband and myself are senior citizens and both have serious health conditions. Through no fault of anyone the power went off in both Loans and Troon just before we arrived. When the power eventually came back on, Gales Lodge stepped in and saved the day.

We chose to drive there as we wanted a drink with our dinner. All the rooms were on one level and my husband, who can't step over a bath into the shower, was given a low bath with good, sturdy poles to grip. We had no problem whatsoever.

We were very late for dinner because of the power cuts. It didn't matter to the staff at Gailes Lodge. I had been ill and only started eating again about four weeks ago. I wanted two small plates. The second one wasn't on the menu but I was given it. The Restaurant Manager, Mary C could not do enough for us.

I have a sore back and can only sit comfortably in a chair with a sloping back. I was given one and the same happened at breakfast. When do these girls ever sleep? I could not criticise the hotel in any way.

There is also a leisure complex and pool which means that if we want to have a family weekend with our son, daughter in law and grandchildrenan, we can do so.

Everything in the hotel works properly. It is spotless. The service is second to none. Even in the morning when we woke very late and couldn't get the shower off, my husband just had to step out of the room and a member of the housekeeping staff did it immediately. We live on the isle of Arran. While on the mainland we will now never stay anywhere but Gailes lodge.

That really says it all.
Ask KeenTraveller65 about The Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186560-d5079220-r577960588-The_Gailes_Restaurant_and_Hotel-Irvine_North_Ayrshire_Ayrshire_Scotland.html#

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank KeenTraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you so much for you great review.

We are all glad you had such a wonderful stay

hope to see you again soon.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Very friend.y hotel, all staff chatty and helpful. Fabulous rooms newly revamped I think.
Scottish Fine Soaps in bathroom, lovely touch. Has gym and spa,golf course with Golf shop and a bieautiful big wedding suite. Plenty choice in restaurant and beach a 15 minute walk away (although we never found it)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maggie652016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay.

We hope to see you again soon, and this time hopefully you find the beach.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

My son and daughter in law had there wedding here on the 14th April 2018 and fom beginning to end it was perfection Sarah Johnson is a credit to this hotel she organised every detail to the highest standard the pent house suite is just gorgeous with lovely decor and jacuzzi and a sauna .. food was fabulous and guest rooms lovely I would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Good afternoon.

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are all delighted that you all had a fantastic wedding and the day went as you had planned.

We hope to see you again soon.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just spend 2 fab days at the Gailes Hotel, have never stayed in such a friendly hotel, staff all very friendly and helpful, which gives the hotel such a lovely relaxed atmosphere, the staff all looked like they actually wanted to be there, which you don't find very often, which makes our stay more enjoyable . Lovely breakfast with plenty to choose from , and a lovely menu for evening meal, with again something to suit everyone's taste , the rooms are lovely, plenty of space ,and very clean, we had a fab 2 night stay, and will certainly be back, keep up the fab work

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Good Afternoon

Thank you so much for the fabulous review.

We are all delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend away.

We all look forward to seeing you again

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews