We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
378
357
188
79
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
357
188
79
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshallmark hotelbuffet breakfasttwo double bedscoach partiesno liftbit datedreception staffnight stayfamily roombar pricescourse mealboth nightsshort breakgreat weekendstayed here for one nighthaggisfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Hi had a great weekend in the Riverside Lodge Hotel the weather was brilliant but the hotel was even better we had a King room it was massive and lovely inside.But the best thing was the food was brilliant and the staff were so frendly could not do enough for you.Would go back in a minute 5 out of 5

Room Tip: All rooms are good
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Murdo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Murdo M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave an online review of your recent "Great weekend" with us, we are all delighted to hear the positive feedback from you, this will be shared with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Came here for an overnight with a group of friends we got a fantastic deal which included dinner wine in the room breakfast.
As it was so reasonable we were not expecting much however the hotel was lovely . Lovely clean spacious rooms .
Lovely lounge area and restaurant . The food was delicious and had a really good menu .
Breakfast was also lovely . Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced too. I would recommend
To anyone.
There is work being done to upgrade the hotel I would imagine it will be even better the next time I visit .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank denmac372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear denmac372,

Thank you for leaving a review online, regarding you recent stay with us. It was great to hear that you found everything to your satisfaction and you enjoyed everything.
We would like to welcome you back again, once the refurbishment is complete.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We booked a weekend break at this hotel as it was close to family living nearby. Luckily we got a deal on ITISON as we would have been well disappointed if we had paid full price.
Firstly you need to be aware there is a lot of building work going on around the hotel, so forget a room with a view.... we were looking out onto a skip filled with old chairs, and rubble surrounding everywhere else.
The hotel is under new management and is currently undergoing refurbishment. Plus there appears to be a housing development being built beside the car park.
There was no lift in the hotel that we could find. The rooms were basic and large and adequate for a short stay. With Tea/coffee making facilities, an iron & ironing board and we also got a bottle of wine in our room on arrival as part of our package deal - nice touch!
We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was OK. The menu wasn't very imaginative but everything was edible. The waiter staff are all young and pleasant and try their very best.
Breakfast was very poor - with cereals and cold fried food - even the plates were cold. Fried eggs etc have to be ordered in advance. Buffet style with hardly anything left when we went to chose - honestly one of the worst hotel breakfasts I have ever experienced. The toaster machine caught on fire twice and left the room filled with smoke.
Overall the stay was OK and for what we paid on our package deal was acceptable.
Hopefully when the refurb work has been completed there will be a better experience.
Top Tip - seach on ITISON for a package deal for this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BURDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear BURDY,
Thank you for taking the time to leave an online review of your recent stay with us. As you are aware there is a huge amount of activity here at the hotel at present with a full hotel wide refurb happening, as well as a housing development being built near us. Unfortunately this doesn't make life easy for us, and can detract from the hotel itself, although every effort is being made by the team and the contractors to minimise disruption from any of the guests. I Can only apologise when it comes to breakfast service and the shortcomings that you experienced.

We hope to see you again once the refurbishment has been completed.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Booked a weekend stay. Hotel is in the midst of a refurbishment, but it seemed OK. The room was clean, decent, and the staff were lovely. We had dinner in the restaurant, the food was good. The staff were a little short handed at times, but made the most of it.
Would definitely go back - hopefully they will have finished the refurbishment and squeezed a little more staff to serve at dinner and breakfast times.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank The-Largest-Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear The-Largest-Hobo,

Thank for leaving a review of your recent experience and we are glad that you would recommend us. With the refurbishment ongoing it can be difficult at times to maintain levels of service. We are glad that you found everything acceptable and we would welcome you back anytime to see the change in the hotel.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Unfortunately we arrived in the middle of a building site The hotel is undergoing a large refurbishment and there is building work going on all around. The rooms were bright and large with excellent beds At one time the room had a fridge and I think a trouser press ( these had been removed ) obviously part of the ongoing reservations. We never-the less had a pleasant and relaxing stay and the staff from the manager to the ladies who serviced our rooms were very pleasant and friendly. The restaurant menu was limited and whilst I had to send my meal back on the first night I was offered another choice. The Breakfast could be more imaginative and consisted of self service and only fried food without any other choice other than cereal and buns. I hope my criticism is not taken as an offhand complaint but constructive comment. I would like to return when the.place has finished all the work since the staff are its main plus at this time.

Room Tip: Rooms looking into a grassy area at rear were pleasant
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dopey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear dopey45,

Thank you for taking the time to leave an online review of your recent stay here with us at the Riverside Lodge Hotel. At present the land directly opposite us has been acquired for development in to houses and flats, and remains completely fenced away from us, unfortunately due to site access we are sharing the same entrance off the main road. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found it to be relaxing. Please accept my apologises for the meal you had on the first evening, but glad that the Duty Manager rectified this issue quickly for you.
As part of company standard we include Fresh Fruit, Yoghurt, Muesli, Berry Compote, Danish Pastries, Croissants and different options of bread with every breakfast service, I certainly hope that this was the case when you visited.
We look forward to your return when refurbishment is finished.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews