We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
160
135
57
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
135
57
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel wedding reception cocktail bar premier room public rooms main building fried eggs west end staff were all very helpful two nights black pudding easy parking breakfast was excellent food was lovely buffet style walk in shower visiting family
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

The Tontine hotel porvided an excellent background to a small wedding which I was the Best Man. The staff were all very helpful and did there best to see that we wanted for nothing. The food we were served was first class and I would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rodger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

The Tontine is A Greenock classic and seems popular with Wedding and Hen parties.
The good first, nice staff, easy parking either in Car park or on Union Street which is amazingly still free. Bathroom seems pretty good other than toilet is a bit close to the wall
The not so good, bedrooms feel very student digs, thin carpet, old fashioned TV that most functions don't work on and small, although I wasn't there for the TV so not such an issue.
Bed really uncomfortable, I spent most of the night rolling from side to side trying find a comfortable position, just got off to sleep and some party revellers returned and began talking in their room, thin walls allowed noise to travel easily and my lack of sleep was complete..
As I say nice staff, breakfast was passable but not notable. This is a shame, as I prefer to use independent hotels rather than large chains. Tontine, think you need to try some of your beds yourself and perhaps ask revellers to be considerate to other guests?

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Barleychuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

In the last few weeks I have eaten twice in the Tontine: once in its classic dining room and once in its relatively new bistro style restaurant 1808. In both I felt welcomed and well served; the range of food on on offer is ample and well presented. The hotel itself occupies a corner of the most charming and picturesque square in Greenock.i confidently recommend it for lunch or dinner.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MonsDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Have been using the Tontine for many years always great service and a reasonable cost.
Visited 1808 bar in the hotel for afternoon tea with family. Lovely setting down in the bar comfortable seating and good background music.
Service was very prompt and friendly and professional at the same time. There was a very good selection of Sandwich and vegetarian options. Scones with cream and jam still warm from the oven. The cakes and pastries were all made on the premises and quality was very good. There was plenty of fresh tea and coffee with frequent refills.
We were there for 3+ hours with no pressure to leave table etc. The atmosphere was great for a very fun day out.
Price wise this is a great value option it was aprox. £ 11 per head including additional soft drinks. Has to be reserved the day before at hotel reception well worth the effort.
Plenty of Car parking at the rear of the hotel and a lovely patio area if weather permitting.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank KirdyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The hotel staff were warm, welcoming and professional. The hotel was clean, comfortable and well staffed. I had a tastefully decorated double room which had an excellent double walk in shower in the bathroom. I enjoyed the breakfast, the coffee lounge for a light lunch and a pre dinner drink in the cocktail bar. The hotel is excellently located for a long walk along the esplanade from Greenock to Gourock enjoying the sailboats and lovely scenery. You can travel back on the train for £4.20 return or decide to take a ferry trip for £8 return to beautiful Dunoon. There is also the shopping experience at Port Glasgow too.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank theresa542015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews