We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
31
45
35
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
45
35
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay hotel open door a wonderful stay cooked breakfast scottish breakfast five minute walk old building would stay again steak pie family members room was large town centre business trip stayed here for nights sharon bloke biccies
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight Saturday as attending a family wedding nearby. Had two double rooms , one of which they had put a travel cot in with lots of blankets and covers which was a lovely touch. Yes furniture is a bit dated but rooms large and clean also staff could not do enough for us. Would stay again

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as part of a family holiday. Breakfast was basic but ok, cooked fresh to order. The juices all tasted awful and the coffee was awful tasting instant. I could smell smoke while in the dining room and later spotted the cook smoking at an open door. There were several flies buzzing around in the dining room, not pleasant. The room was clean, although there was a smell of stale smoke. Staff cleaned our room during our stay and were generous with topping up toiletries etc. Some of the furniture looks dated. Shower was very powerful, always a plus. The biggest downside for me was the live music!! Had it been mentioned on the website or booking.com I wouldn’t have booked. I was travelling with two young children so hearing loud music until 1am and people talking loudly while outside smoking was not ideal. Staff friendly and polite.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Just stayed there last night as going to visit a cruise ship.
Room was clean and tidy, only comment was no glasses in bathroom for cleaning teeth.
The bar prices are very reasonable, unlike most hotels.
Centrally located, a 3 minute walk from Greenock Central station, and a couple of minutes from the centre. Next to the walkway along the Clyde, which have great views.
Would use the hotel again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at Custom House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your review. There should be plastic glasses in the bathroom I’ll look in to this.

I hope you had a lovley cruise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

I booked this hotel on the 25th July 2018 through booking.com, got to the hotel on the 26th July and the hotel took the payment of 67.50 from my card.The next day another payment of 67.50 was taken from my card by a company called Eviivo , the hotel say Eviivo is
Booking.com payment , but booking .com say it's the hotel who have taken two payments.
I am still waiting 4 days later for it to be resolved , lost all confidence in Custom House Hotel and Booking .com !!!!!!!!!!!!!'m

Room Tip: No escape from police sirens as hotel adjacent to police station
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank niellittle1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at Custom House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

I’m sorry this issue was not sorted quicker for you

Eviivo are our booking company , it would be a pre autorosed holding . It gets released after payment is taken .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

we booked 2 rooms, I made a bit of a cock up... I rang to see if they could help...Sharon to the rescue....yes they could..we ended up in the honeymoon suite ..saved the day !!!...hotel is beautiful, Sharon was so helpful, funny and nothing was too much trouble for her. the rest of the staff we met were just as obliging..full Scottish breakfast was amazing..everywhere spotless..we will 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mcnab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews