We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$123
View deal
Hotels.com
US$158
US$117
View deal
SAVE US$41
Priceline
US$130
View deal
Expedia.comUS$117
Trip.comUS$129
getaroom.comUS$158
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
496
395
151
79
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
496
395
151
79
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland cows charlie chaplin executive room cream tea lovely grounds beautiful hotel an upgrade huge bed an overnight stay enjoyable stay first class porridge both nights chaplins coos highlands tlc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night stay here in room 210 a large superior room the hotel was quiet and tastefully furnished the staff are very friendly it was like staying in a large manor house.
The food in Chaplins restaurant is very good, and breakfast was good too - helped by the 2 wonderfully helpful women serving each day. We ordered chocolate dipped strawberries which were lovely.
The hotel has lots of ground and 2 residents highland coos, it has along drive with plenty of parking space.
We took the train to Inverness which takes about 15 mins and enjoyed a great day in compact Inverness

Room tip: Superior Room
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peggysue93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

I was very impressed by this hotel. Have been twice before but food now far more interesting and beautifully presented. Our room was lovely. Huge bed. Went while prohibition was still in force but basically had wine before dinner and after dinner in our room. As I assume everyone else did.Staff were very pleasant. Breakfast good but they need to source a nicer sausage as I took one bite but left the rest of it. Bacon great,eggs and mushrooms perfect.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Wilma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Much of the hotel has been recently refurbished and it looks good. Staff are helpful and friendly, the food in Chaplins restaurant is very good, and breakfast was good too - helped by the 2 wonderfully helpful women serving each day.
Our executive room was spacious, warm and had a shower that was fantastic!
We visited during one of 2020’s partial lockdowns, so no alcohol, bar closed and no wine with dinner - which all made it a bit strange and although the hotel was busy, we rarely saw other guests apart from breakfast. But none of that took away from a brilliant stay. Thanks to everyone at The Newton!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

Hotel is set in lovely grounds and friendly Highland cow neighbours. It is very quiet but only a short distance from town and beach. Our room was spacious, clean with a generous bathroom. Really good restaurant and good choice for breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank salrosblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

We had an overnight stay with our 7year old grandson, having stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years, have to say it was an enjoyable overnight stay. Things are a bit different due to Covid but staff very nice and restaurant staff very attentive. Had to pre order breakfast for 3 and have to say orders were exactly as asked and again staff were very attentive and getting extra juice and toast was no problem. Only thing that could have been improved upon was the old carpets that were lying on the grass at the back, I assume some rooms must have had new carpeting during lockdown this was what we were looking out to from out family room and the open bottle skip was just below our window. But otherwise all good and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank scootaboot67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews