We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$167
View deal
Hotels.comUS$167
TripadvisorUS$167
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$167
PricelineUS$167
Orbitz.comUS$167
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
184
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
184
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rachel and john excellent breakfast overlooking the sea easy access enjoyable stay bed and breakfast hosts accommodation walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Two excellent hosts in a lovely location - they gave good advice about where to have dinner. Rooms are airy, very well furnished, comfortable and beautifully clean. Breakfast was superb. It is within a short walk of the town and nearby restaurants. Overall, one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Rachel and John are truly excellent hosts. The rooms are comfortable and inviting, breakfast was delicious, and the location is outstanding. A short drive from the Inverness airport, it provides a close jumping off point for visits to Culloden, Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle, Inverness, and the Loch Ness area. The B&B itself is just across the street from a lovely beach, and is in walking distance to great restaurants. I stayed three nights, and would definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 931jennifern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear 931jennifern

Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae. Should you be in the area again, we hope to welcome you back.

With best wishes
Rahcel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

I cannot say enough about the Sunny Brae Hotel. We stayed for 2 nights in August on a road through Scotland. I chose it based on reviews and was not disappointed. We had a Sea View Double on the 2nd floor. The view is amazing and absolutely worth it! The location cannot be beat. We walked across the street both days (once watching cricket) to both sit and walk the seaside. There are a few good restaurants within walking distance which we visited. The hotel and room are lovely, very clean and very well maintained. The decor (as intended I'm sure) makes you feel like you are at a seaside resort 100 years ago. That is how it should be. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom has heated floors (not important in the Summer months though!). We are not early morning people so we, sadly, missed breakfast both days.
The weather was moderately warm during our visit so they were nice enough to lend us a very welcomed fan when we found that the window could only be opened a couple of inches. That would be my only negative comment. That the window couldn't be opened fully (especially being seaside).
The best part of our stay was meeting and speaking with Rachel. She is fantastic and very attentive to one's every need. Thank you Rachel! I would love to return when we next visit Scotland.

Room tip: Sea view room well worth it! Stairs to second floor not bad.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rocnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Rocnative

Firstly, thank you very much for staying at Sunny Brae. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments make me blush!

Generally, the rooms are cool enough, especially the ones facing the sea. We are happy to hear that the fan made a little difference to your comfort.

We hope to welcome you back, should you be in the area.

With best wishes
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

Sunny Brae was a great place to stay for 7 nights. Rachel and John are so friendly. The rooms are lovely and bright and super clean. Breakfast in the morning was great anthough we didn't take a cooked breakfast there was more than enough to eat from the selection of fresh fruit, cerial and various other things. We certainly would love to go back to Sunny Brae in the future

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Dear Pamela475

Thank you very much for staying at Sunny Brae and taking the time to write a fabulous review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully your journey home was pleasant and comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

With best wishes
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

Stayed here for a team golf event with my Cruden Bay team mates. Cannot speak highly enough of the hospitality and welcome that the owners John and Rachael provided.

From the first welcome, to our departure, we felt so well looked after.

The standard of the rooms was superb, with beds comfy and all amenities you could ever need. The hotel had a large car park and lovely surrounds close to pubs, restaurants, the large park and the beach. Was only 2 mins from the Golf club too.

Lastly the breakfast was absolutely superb! Enjoyed the range and quality, and everything cooked to order.

Nothing was too much hassle, and the hospitality experienced was simply second to none!

Will most definitely return and kudos to our hosts!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GaryM604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Dear Gary

Thank you very much for staying at Sunny Brae and taking the time to write a fabulous review about us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It was great to meet you and your team mates. We hope to welcome you back next year.

With best wishes from Nairn

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews