We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning time aboard Stathsprey”
Eriskay is a sleek, stylish cruiser.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eriskay is a sleek, stylish cruiser.
Stunning scenery in the Great Glen and the Eriskay is the perfect vantage point to view it from. Double cabin forward
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Eriskay is a sleek, stylish cruiser.
Stunning scenery in the Great Glen and the Eriskay is the perfect vantage point to view it from.
Double cabin forward
Fully equipped galley with full size cooker and fridge
Full size fridge on board
Spacious open plan seating area, with TV/DVD player
Twin bunks, ideal for the kids!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sparkySus...
sussex england
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning time aboard Stathsprey”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

A wonderful company to deal with. The instruction and maps were first class. Great safety instruction upon arrival. First impression of the boat was good. Looked to be well maintained. Got on board and was so happy. Brilliantly well laid out boat that was really comfortable. Wonderful amount of equipment in the kitchen with a full sized fridge and cooker. Two really comfortable double beds in bow and stern. We only had three people on board so had loads of room. Boat was really responsive and easy to manoeuvre. Stern and bow thrusters made life a lot simpler when mooring or locking.
This was our first time in the Highlands and what an amazing way to soak up the views. This area is quite simply magnificent. The views will remain with me forever.
The facilities on the canal are brilliant. We used the showers provided at the mooring sites and they were clean, tidy and had endless hot water. A number of locations also had washing and drying facilities if you needed them.
I could go on and on, but if you want to see Scotland in all its splender, then treat yourself to a Caley Cruiser. Simply brilliant

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your great review and your kind words, and for taking the time to write. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and your experience cruising the Caledonian Canal and the Lochs and that you were happy with your vessel, the Strathspey. We appreciate and welcome any comments we receive, which should enable us to continuously improve our service. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of you cruising with us again some other time in the future. Many thanks again and all the best. - From all @ Caley Cruisers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was the first boating holiday that we had been on and i must say the attention given to me by Audrey and her team was first class. The boat was very easy to handle and they ensured that we were confident before leaving us at the first lock to get on our way.
The stop off points were good with very decent shower and toilet facilities along the route
Fort Auguster was our favorite overnight stop and the whole journey is full of excellent scenery and memorable sights.
The Lock keepers were very friendly and full of useful advice when we needed it.
I would recommend the Eriskay as your first boat if you have never handled a boat before, however there was four adults, one 16 year old and a small dog on board for the week and it was a bit cramped at times but there was a decent cooking area which was well stocked with plates and kitchen utensils.
The boat is idea for four people (and the small dog).
There was free parking at the boat yard for people who decide to drive to Inverness.
Overall a very relaxing week and i will be back again but this time on a bigger boat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The slow pace of the trip
Liked least: A bit cramped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review and your kind words. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your boating holiday with us on the Caledonian Canal and that you were pleased with the Eriskay class. We agree, she is a great vessel for first time boaters and ideal for up to 4 people or a family of 4. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of you cruising with us again in the future. Best wishes from all of us at Caley Cruisers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGH1970
Oxhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended way to see the Caledonian Canal”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Cannot recommend Caley Cruisers highly enough.
We had a dreadful journey to Inverness after a major car breakdown, but despite arriving 7 hours late on a Saturday evening we were greeted by Scott who settled us onto our boat, an Eriskay, and showed us how to work the essentials for the night. He returned at 9am the next morning to take us through all the necessary training, gave us lots of tips, and had us underway by mid-morning.
We had 2 adults, 2 teenagers and a large dog on the Eriskay and felt we had sufficient space. The kitchen is really well equipped so self-catering is very easy if you wish. The boat was very straightforward to manoeuvre, we had no problems at all. It was very clean and very well maintained.
The cruising area is stunning. We may not have had the weather we hoped for, but you just have to go with the right clothes. The navigation charts provided are detailed and easy to follow, and highlight everything you need to know when choosing overnight stops. Although the boat has a shower we mainly used the canalside Scottish Canals facilities which we found to be clean and warm.
The best bits were chatting to/getting to know other boat occupants, the lock-keepers who to a man/woman were friendly and good humoured, and the leisurely pace of travel. It is definitely a holiday which allows time for a couple of good books, family movie evenings, and afternoon naps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent holiday with us. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time cruising down the Great Glen on one of our cruisers. We welcome and appreciate all comments from our customers to help us improve our service where required.
Once again, we are very grateful for your positive comments and kind words. Perhaps, we will have the pleasure of you cruising with us again some time in the future.
With best wishes,
Caley Cruisers Reservations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from 7 nights aboard the Eriskay for my partner s Birthday. What a amazing trip ,the scenery is out of this world .Loch Ness was a amazing experience and fort agustus was picturesque.Best way to see Scotland along the Caledonian canal.The Eriskay was ideal for our size party and ideal for our large dog .When we arrived we were delighted with the boat and its interior was spotless all equipment needed was to hand.Big Thank you to all the staff at the boat yard especially Andy who took us up to the first lock ,Thank you for all your excellent customer service. We hope one day to do this again ,its defiantly one for the holiday list.Amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Eriskay class, cruising the Caledonian Canal & Loch Ness. We shall pass your regards on to the instructor who joined you to the first lock. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of you cruising wit us again some other time in the future. - Caley Cruisers Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwiBirmi...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great boat for our large dog”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't really add to what has been said by others previously except to say that every single word they've said about the Caley Cruisers staff, the lock keepers, the scenery, the boat, and the whole experience is true. So my review is different in that the following information may be of use to those who have a large dog and especially if it isn't very agile.

We chose the Eriskay Class mainly because it looked the best one for our elderly dog to get on and off it, and having now actually seen the other classes of boat rather than just the photos I think we chose well. Our dog weighs 30kg so we wanted to minimise the times we had to lift her. The Eriskay Class has it's rear outside area at the same level as the inside of the cabin so no difficult slippery steps, and then there is a neat little gate leading from this area for stepping on and off the boat onto a mooring pontoon/landing stage, all of which you can see in the brochure photos.

This does though mean that it's best (but not essential) to reverse onto the moorings rather than sideways on which most boats do, but with the help of the bow thrusters it's a fairly easy manoeuvre even for a novice. Mooring this way does mean the boat sticks out a bit but the canal is plenty wide enough and it's just as easy to tie up the mooring ropes. Having said that, the one occasion we did have to moor sideways it wasn't too difficult lifting the dog because using the seat as a step, it then wasn't that high to lift her over.

It's a lovely boat and a joy to live on and drive. My only slight criticism is that the gap between the driver's seat and the steering wheel is too small and therefore I found it was more comfortable to drive 'side saddle'. This wasn't really much of a problem but more of a niggle. Oh and one final thing is that although this boat doesn't have an additional steering wheel outside like some do, the all round vision from inside is massive anyway, and with the back doors open and the large sliding window by the steering wheel, there is plenty of ventilation on a warm day.

I thoroughly recommend this holiday, and in particular Caley Cruisers who have been absolutely excellent throughout the whole process. If you've never boated before don't be put off because it really is easy, and it's such a great way of seeing and experiencing the magnificent scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: The heavy rain and winds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are really delighted you had a great time and were happy with our Eriskay for your trip through the canal. The feedback regarding your dog is much appreciated, it's very helpful for anyone considering a trip with us. All the best from the Caley crew!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing